2002-06-03
10:33 p.m.

The last few weeks have been completely crazy. Half the time I didn't know whether I was coming or going.

First, I was going to school to get my GED. I was taking pre-tests and such, and I scored very well on them. As soon as I get permission from the state I am going to go take the actual test. I should hopefully do pretty well. After I take that test, I will start college. Me, in college, wow.

So, I was taking those classes from eight in the morning, to twelve in the afternoon, then, from there, I was going to work, because the girl I was sharing shifts with suddenly decided to quit. Leslie was still out of work from her fall off of Elisa, and Brandi, try as she did, didn't know much about teching. I ended up doing most of the teching, while teaching her. She was a very quick learner, and I really do like her. While I was teching, she would go in the kennel and let the dogs out and such, so I can't complain. Regardless, work and school did begin to take it's toll on me, which is why I haven't been updating lately.

I finally finished with my pre-tests, and work was going pretty well. Then, we put a 104 pound lab to sleep. A pet care facility was supposed to pick the dog up for cremation. Brandi and I went to put the dog in the freezer for storage, but the dog was so big, she wouldn't fit in with the other dogs in there. We had Dr. C come down, and try to help us rearrange the freezer, but had no luck. I felt horrible, moving about all these dead dogs, it felt so disrespectful. In the end, we ened up putting all of the dogs in a cart, and called our pet pick up guy and asked if he could pick them up that night. I told him, in front of Brandi, that all the dogs were in a cart, and to leave the dogs in the freezer, as they were supposed to be cremated.

The next day, Brandi and I went down to pick up the dog for the pet care service, to find it missing. We called our pet guy, and found out that he had picked up the dogs, and had already burried them. He refused to dig them up. Dr. Myers went out, and dug into a mass grave, and pulled this dog out. It was horrible. I never want to see anything like that again. I was furious with Randy, our pet guy, as was the rest of the staff. The dog had been clearly marked, and he had had my verbal speach about holding the dogs.

Two days later, Dr. Myers pulls all of the staff into a meeting. Never have I been so close to getting up and walking out. Dr. Myers said that "normally he worked with a good group of people, but, lately, he didn't think so." He mentioned the whole fiasco with the dog, and said that it was not Randy's fault, but our fault. He gave us no time to tell our side of the story, he just blamed us. That hurt. Never, ever, would I ever allow that to happen to a dog. The dog had been marked, four of us saw it marked, the mistake was Randy's, but we were getting blamed. Then, Dr. Myers, in front of everyone, critisizes Dr. C, believing the word of his 'buddy' over her word. Actually, he never listened to her word. I sat across the room, already fuming, listening to him berate Dr. C. I watched her clench her coffee cup (this woman drinks more coffee than anyone I know) and I was ready to get up and leave. He was unprofessional, and petty. Had this meeting gone on two minutes longer, I would have been gone.

Then, later that day, my Mom called me, and told me that they had once again screwed up the disability stuff. Instead of getting the check she thought she would be getting, it turns out we will be getting about eight hundred dollars less. That means our house needs to be sold yesterday, and we haven't even put it on the market yet. When will something go right?

Saterday, I was on at work, and we had two doctors, Dr. C and Dr. Fuller on, both booked solid. Well, Dr. C got called out on emergency after emergency, leaving Dr. Fuller there to do the work of both doctors. I've suddenly began to realize how much Leslie has been slacking off. I never wanted to see it before, because she is my friend, but she hasn't been pulling her weight at work. I ended up assisting Dr. Fuller on every case that day except for three, which equals about twenty two cases for me. Then, I had to sweep, mop, and do medications. I have no idea what Leslie did the whole day. I do know that she actually got to sit down and eat, while I didn't even have time to get a drink. I was really upset about that whole situation. I told Dr. C about it, and she said I wasn't the only one that had been noticing.

I also had a really nice conversation with Dr. C about vet school on Sunday. I was asking her what the hardest classes were, and I informed her that I would be calling her at midnight asking her for help. She threatened my life, I told her I would buy her stuff from QVC, and she decided she would gladly help me. Gosh I love bribery. :)

Dr. Fuller informed me last week that he gave me a bonus in this month's check. I think he got the hint that I was quite angry about the whole promotion thing. I guess it was all for the best though, cause when Leslie came back to work, Brandi got demoted, so now she is in the same position as me. I like working with her, and she pulls her weight quite nicely.

Oh, gosh, I know I am jumping around like crazy, but I am trying to cram two weeks worth of stuff into a single entry. The other night, we did surgery on a duck that had swallowed a fishing luer. The surgery was very risky, and we were pretty sure the duck wouldn't make it. Regardless, we named the duck Aflack, and continued on with the surgery. About fifteen minutes into the surgery, Dr. Fuller punctured an air sack, which isn't that bad, considering ducks have six. I had to begin to breath for the duck for safety though. The duck began to bleed a lot, so Dr. Fuller asked Leslie to give the duck some fluids. She didn't know where to give them, but didn't bother to ask, instead just guessed. I breathed for the duck for about two hours, getting a blister on my thumb, but everything was going well, it looked like the duck was going to make it. As I was breathing for the duck, I noticed it was taking fewer breaths on it's own, and I asked Leslie how it's heart rate was doing. She told me she couldn't find it. Now, why in the hell didn't she mention that as soon as she lost it? That's when I notice water seaping into the oxygen tube. I quickly unhook the tube, watching as at least a cup and a half of water comes pouring out. I look at Dr. Fuller, and then look at the bag of fluids. Leslie had put the needle right into the duck's air sack. The duck was drowning. We tried CPR, but it was too late. Leslie, in her pride, had killed the duck. May I never be too proud to admit when I don't know something.

So, yeah, there is my week in review, no wonder I am so tired. Anyway, I have missed everyone.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist