September 01, 2003
9:29 p.m.

I made it through my white water rafting experience. I went rafting on the Ocoee River with Dr. C, Dianna, and Ellyn from work, and let me tell you, I had a blast! We rafted over class three and four rapids, and luckily, didn't get capsised, like a couple other unfortunate rafts in our group did. We did get stuck on a couple of rocks, which is a bit disconcerting when you are teatering back and forth on a rock in the middle of class four rapids. I ended up coming close to falling out a couple of times, and flew foward into Dr. C about ten times..that'll teach her to sit in front of me. About half way through the six hour trip, we stopped at the area where they had the 1996 Atlanta games. The worst rapids were at this point, and, as we ate lunch, we watched a multitude of rafts getting flipped over. Then, after getting our bellies full, the put us back the rafts to go over that particular patch of rapids. I don't know if that it the smartest thing, on their part, but I didn't see anyone lose that oh so fabulous lunch..hehe. One group did get flipped on a pretty nasty patch, but they got everyone but one person promptly out of the water. The last person got swept around the corner, but was finally removed from the water unscathed. Our guide was good, and got us through with no problems. We have all already decided we are going to go back twice next year. It's just so incredible. I had put sunscreen on my face and shoulders, but didn't really think about my legs, and ended up getting a pretty bad sunburn, but it was worth it. I would reccommend it to anyone. It was great.

A couple of weeks ago, my neighbors called me, and asked if I had gotten a new dog. After telling them no, they told me about this little dog that had appeared on their property, and asked me to come and look at him. What excatly I was supposed to do once I saw the dog, I didn't really know. Anyway, I went and looked, and said that the dog looked to be in pretty good health, and that I didn't recognize him. They shrugged, and said they would leave some food and water out for it, and leave it alone. Well, about this time, the dog goes out into the street, and sits down, right on the yellow line. With a very disgruntled sigh, I leashed the dog, and brought it to the house. I was not going to have a young dog hit by a car on my concious. So, I put up fliers, trying to find the previous owners, because it's too sweet of a puppy to not have owner, but, thus far, I haven't had a single call. Then, Thursday, as I was on my way home from school, my Mom called and said the puppy wasn't acting right. When I got home, I noticed he was acting like he just didn't feel well. He was still wagging his tail, and even jumping up a bit, but not with the same wild ferver as normal. What really set me off was when I dropped the scrub top I was carrying, and he didn't immediately grab it and run off. It was then that I noticed the diarrhea he was having. I took him into the clinic the next morning, and ran a parvo test. It was, of course, strong positive. Parvo is a highly contagious virus among young, unvaccinated dogs that causes GI upset, making them vomit, and have profuse bloody diarrhea. It also gets very expensive to treat. Of course, me being the big hearted person I am, agree to treat the little twit. I swear, it would be a dog that isn't even mine that costs the most money. He's doing much better now. I went up to visit him yesterday, and he was back to his annoying little self, chewing out his IV line twice in an hour long period. Everyone at the clinic is teasing me about the dog that I have thus refused to keep. Saying I sure am spending a lot of money on a dog I am going to give away, so, in protest, I have decided to call him DINK (which stands for Dog I'm Not Keeping) just to clarify things. :) He's feeling better though, and that's all that's important. Money is just paper, a life is worth so much more. ::Grumbles about being broke though::

I finally got tickets to the Evanescence concert, go me! Dr. C and I are going to go, and maybe Kelly. I am very excited. See, I actually have a life in September, two non work, non school related things...although, they are with work people..does that count? ::Shrugs:: Well, I am going to say it doesn't, and that I do have a life :)

School sucks. My Biology teacher is worthless. I stumbled on the website for the book we have, and found out that she is printing her notes directly from that website, so, now I don't even bother writing the notes in her class, I just print them out. She reads her notes word for word, and offers no discussion on anything. If I wanted the book verbatum, I could stay home and read it myself. Grr. I hate Spanish because it's so much getting up in front of the class, and, with my social anxiety disorder, I don't really enjoy it too much. I mean, I know everyone gets anxious in front of a group of people, but it's more than that. I don't know, I just want to be "normal." I like my Biology lab though, so that's good, I guess. I dunno.

Well, off to bed.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist