March 17, 2003
9:03 p.m.

I went to visit Dr. C on Saturday, and was surprised at how good she looked. I guess I was expecting her to look like Frankenstein. I called before I went up there, and Megan said she was asleep, so I figured I would drop of the stuff I had for her, and leave. In a way, I was kind of relieved, because, then I wouldn't have to figure out what to say to her. Well, when I got there, she was wide awake, so, I couldn't not go say hi. When I saw her, I kind of had to do a double take, there wasn't a singe bruise on her face. She had a small cut on her lip, and her face was a little swollen, but, from a distance, you couldn't even tell anything was wrong. She asked me to go back to the clinic, and get this red waxy stuff to put over the wires so they wouldn't hurt her lips so much. Well, I could understand almost everything she said, except exactly what she wanted. I had asked her to repeat it twice, and I could tell she was getting frustrated, so I just went to the clinic, praying that I could be able to figure it out when I saw it. Luckily, it I found it without much trouble. She's in good spirits, and even ended up going home later that night. Today, however, we found out that she may have to go in and have her jaw bone plated, because it looks like it's begining to shift. One of Dr. C's biggest fears is being put under anesthesia. I'm sure it will all be okay though.

Piper is doing great. I took all her sutures out the other day, and she is finally allowed back in my room. I know she thought she was being punished, beinf forced to stay in the crate. I wish I could explain that I just couldn't have her dripping blood everywhere.

The clinic seems to go through phases, some phases, we save all the animals, we are heroes, then, we get phases where it seems that half the animals that walk in the door end up dying, and I feel like we are the grim reaper, disguised in scrub tops and jeans. I don't know, I still love my job, and we save a lot of animals, but, sometimes, when there are a lot of deaths, it's just hard to remember.

It was raining this morning, and, of course, my horse decides to be at the very end of the very back pasture. So, here I am, sloshing through the mud, calling to my horse, who, is standing at the end of the pasture, staring at me, just waiting for me to come to her. As tempting as it was to not feed her evil little butt, I feared I would end up worrying about it all day, so, I walked all the way there to get her. I of course almost slip and fall several times. I get my jeans, which I am wearing to work, covered in mud. I was saying some not so nice things in her direction. Then, when I get to her she sits there and nuzzles me all innocently. I swear, she is the devil in disguise. I love her anyway though.

Ashley, after telling me she was going to do it for several weeks, turned in her two week notice today. It really kind of sucks, because Ashley and I were becoming really good partners. We had a pretty good routine going, where we could get in there, get it done, and get out. Ashley is the life of the clinic, with her complete honesty, she had all of us laughing like crazy on a day to day basis. I really am going to miss her, but her reasons for leaving are just. My biggest fear is who Dr. Fuller is going to hire to take her place, and what, in turn, would happen to me. There are two people I know he wants to hire. One, he thinks is the most amazing person in the world, and, if he hires her, I know that all the crap will be dumped on me. I just know how he works, as far as favorites are concerned. The other girl, I don't know that well, but, she just seemed..I don't know, she didn't seem like she would really fit in when she was there. He could hire Kelly on to work more, but with her in school still, I don't know if she could do the hours he would need. I guess only time will tell.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist