2002-07-08
9:49 p.m.

Work has been a bit draining, but that can be said about any job. I had one of those weekends from hell. I should have known when things went smoothly Saturday morning, and I actually got out of there on time. Hind sight is 20/20.

When I went back Saturday evening for treatments, a little dog decided that it didn't want a leash on, and, with no warning what so every, decided to bite me. It grabbed the first two fingers on my right hand, and refused to let go. I now have four nice little tooth marks in my hand, one of which is trying very hard to get infected. I have never wanted to hit a dog so bad in my life, but no, professional me, just grabbed the rabies pole, bleeding fingers and all, and took the stupid mutt out. I swear, if I didn't love my job so much...

Ah, well, the good news is, for me at least, that Dr. Fuller suddenly decided to let me do a minor surgery on a dog's ear. He hands me the surgical pack, and tells me to go to it. I prepped the area, put on my gloves, picked up the scalpel, and asked him what the heck I was supposed to do now. He told me how to cut, and such as that. Then, after I drained the ear, he showed my how to stitch it up. It took me a while to learn that, because, he was showing me right handed, and, I am a leftie. It's harder than you think to reverse everything. I eventually got it though, so, all was well. That was actually very exciting. My very first surgery.

Sunday, I went back to work, and I am so happy because I was going to get out of there on time. Has anyone noticed that as soon as I start with that sentence, I end up getting stuck at the clinic for a large amount of time? Yeah, so, anyway, I am ready to leave, when I hear the rush of fluids. I turn around, and find that a dog that came in the previous night had just thrown up about a half gallon of blood. After making sure the dog was stable, I called Dr. Fuller, and told him what had happened. After starting new fluids, and giving the poor dog about five shots, Dr. Fuller got there with more emergencies. Stuff like this only happens on his weekends on call. We suspect the dog has Parvo, which is pretty contagious to unvaccinated dogs, which, of course, we have on in the cage above him. We moved that dog, and started treatments on this dog. The owner kept asking me if the dog was going to make it. I don't want to say yes, because, this dog just threw up half a gallon of blood..odds aren't in his favor. I finally said that I had see dogs come out of pretty bad things, and that if the dog had a strong will to live, then he had a chance. It's really hard to think of things to say to clients, when they want you reassurence, but you don't really have any to give.

The dog was still alive when I went back to do evening treatments, so, maybe he will make it. He's fighting like crazy, which is always heartening to see. I hate the ones who fight so hard, but lose the battle. Those are the cases that kill me.

I'd also like to thank everyone for the comments on my layout. I also promise to have a non work related entry up soon. :)



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist