2001-08-28
1:42 a.m.

I took my dog Maggie in for more X-ray's today to see how she is healing. She was -not- a happy puppy. All we wanted her to do was lay on the X-ray table, and let us take two measly films. We might as well have asked her to climb Mt. Everest. After she peed all over the table, and Dr. C (which I felt horrible for), and managed to scratch us all to tiny tiny shreds, we finally got the films. She's healing pretty good considering the damage that was done. We are going to have to go in and have some surgery in the near future, but here comes the good news. I was asking Dr. C when it would be okay to spay Maggie, and she said Maggie was good to go now. So, I jokingly said 'there goes my entire paycheck.' Dr. C then tells me that she does surgery for free for all the people that work there, and that she only charges them for the anestesia and drugs. That takes the price from oh, about two hundred, down to sixty maybe. Have I mentioned that I love Dr. C? Then, the surgery for her hip would normally cost about five hundred to six hundred dollars, instead, I get it for one fifty. Still a bit pricey, but compared to what it would cost normally, you won't catch me complaining.

Before I took Maggie home, I thought I would do the simple task of trimming her nails. It should be pretty easy....right? Na uh. I thought we were killing the poor thing. She screamed, and whined, and whimpered, and wiggled, and thrashed. Drama queen. I only got thrown into the metal table a few times ::rubs bruised shoulder:: Oh well, her nails are nice and pretty now..little witch. :)

Dr. C then asked me to come on a colic call with her, and to my surprise, the normally very quiet doctor talked to me the whole time. She seems to feel more comfortable around me lately. Anyway, we got to the case, which turned out to be a little foal. It was five months old, so we expected it to have some manners..well, as I avoided being trampled for about the tenth time, I gave up on that hope. Even under sedation, that little foal threw Dr. C into the wall several times. I then see Dr. C palpating around where the male genetals would be..if the horse had been a male. With a quick look under the belly, Dr. C came up, giving the foal a weird look.. 'You're a girl!?!' She then looked again to be sure. Dr. C was just amazed that a little filly could act so crazy. The look on her face was priceless though..I of course didn't laugh or anything...hehe.

We then put a tube into her stomach. You then pour water into a little funnel and it goes into the stomach..well, those buckets just aren't made for pouring. I ended up soaking Dr. C. She just kind of looks up, water dripping from her scrub, and gives me one of her infamous looks. I kind of smiled..'You looked hot.' She couldn't help but laugh too. That's okay though, I managed to soak myself as well. Remind me to say no next time she asks me to go on a call with her. ;)

I figure that one day, I might actually leave the clinic on time. Today's time, eight o'clock. So, I am now going to go and crash.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist