2001-03-21
10:33 p.m.

Today has been a pretty good day if I don't say so myself. Last night I had to babysit as usual, but I had Jenn bring over her little sister again, so the kids basically ran off and played by themselves. Jenn and I just sat on the couch holding hands and snuggling, only being interrupted when we heard the patter of little feet.

I got home around twelve, and didn't get to bed until around two. Let me tell you seven in the morning rolls around really quickly. I was taking two of my dogs in today to be spayed/neutered. I was praying that they would watch the surgery, since I want to be a vet, although I doubted they would. Well, I asked Dr. C (I'm not going to try and spell her name) if I could maybe just watch, and she happily agreed.

I really like Dr. C, I've had sort of a connection with her since the first time I met her. While my mom found her distant, and almost prude, I found her facinating. She went out of her way to explain things to me, and show me things. When she came to put Cracker down, I remember that she came and gave me a big hug, and was incredibly sweet.

I was expecting to be shoved off in a corner to watch the surgery, instead Dr. C asked me if I wanted to send my mom home, and stay around and help them a bit. Heh, my mom was shoved out the door of the clinic in a matter of seconds. I then got to help Dr. M, who is like the vet of vets (as far as horses are concerned) in this area, palpate a mare's ovaries. That was a big thrill, and I was surprised that Dr. M even remembered my name. After that, I went back up to the indoor part of the clinic, and helped a dog that had been hit by a car. She was a hundred fifteen pound Rotty, that was as sweet as she could be.

Then came the time for my dog Gilly to get spayed. I helped hold her as she was shaved, and an IV was inserted. After she was tranquilized, we took her into the operating room, and laid her on the table. I got to help tie her up, and work the gas. As Dr. C was cutting the uterin arterym which she had already sutured, blood began squirting everywhere. I took that as a not so good sign. Dr. C, asked Kathy, the nurse, to quickly get gloves on, and help find the bleeder. I have to admit I was mildly alarmed, and even though Dr. C won't admit to it, she was too. Finally they got the artery clamped, and had to struggle with it for about thirty minutes until it finally decided to quit bleeding. She looked at me, and was like, 'that doesn't usually happen.' Heh, I sure hope not. I got to help suture Gilly up, and put her back in her crate. I also got to mess around with her discarded uterus..I'm weird and disgusting I know :)

Then it was time for Max to get neutered. As Dr. C was shaving his leg to put the IV in, the clippers blew up. I mean, literally, sparks, smoke, popping sound, everything. Dr. C see looks over at me, clearing the smoke from her face, 'That doesn't usually happen either.' Turned out a fuse had decided to blow, and where was the fuse switch? Behind the kennel full of sick dogs. The fuse had to be fixed because it also went to the OR. So, with much improvising, the cages were moved, and the fuse flipped. Max's surgery went well, I got to work the heart monitor, and hand her equipment. Wahoo, it was very awesome. After he was out of sugery and was waking up, however, he decided to have hallucinations. He began going crazy, growling and jumping around. Dr. C had to pull him out, and restrain him. She looks up at me, shaking her head, 'I swear, this usually doesn't happen either.'

After Max and Gilly were waking up fine, we went down to the barn to castrate a horse. He was a beautiful, albeit mean, black tennessee walking horse, like Cracker was. It was interesting to watch them put him under, I mean, there isn't really any easy way to put a thousand pound animal under anesthesia. Dr. C gave him the Ketemine, which should have put him to sleep..it didn't work. She gave him a second dose, still didn't work. 'Give me the whole damn bottle.' She finally exclaimed. He was just sleepy enough that he was leaning heavily on Dr. C and Kathy, and if you've ever had a horse lean on you it's hard to keep him standing, but not enough to lay down. After injecting the rest of the bottle, the horse finally laid down. I then watched the horse loose his family jewels, which actually made me feel really bad for all gelding horses out there. The surgery actually looked quite gruesome..but I still thought it was awesome. I then got to watch the horse through recovery, and alerted Dr. C when he finally woke up. Finally, all of Dr. C's scheduled stuff was done, and it was time for me to go home. I looked at the clock and was shocked to see that it was five o'clock. I had been there for nine hours. So, I called my mom, and got to help hold a wiener dog while he got his nails clipped. For such a small dog, he was quite hard to hold. The doctors trusted little me all by myself to hold him. I thought that was so cool. So, I finally went home, talked my mom's ear off about the whole day, walked in the door, and crashed on my bed. On a side note, when you are going to be standing up all day, don't shoes with any type of heel, no matter how short you are ;)

Jenn also started a clique, similar to the one I am working on, although it focuses more on the lesbian side of it. The link is over on the side under my picture, so go and join if you have a chance.

I got a nice E-mail today from someone saying that after reading my diary, their thought on lesbians and gays had changed. That I had made them realize that we weren't so bad. That was just really nice to see that I could change someone's views.

Oh, and on top of my wonderful day, I found out that someone had nominated me for the mahawards, although the reccomendation was in too late for me to be counted, it was just cool to be nominated thought. I was nominated for best personality, wow. :) Well, alas, I am tired, so I am going to bed.

Oh, and one more thing, I wanted to tell everyone the interesting google search that lead someone here: hot and heavy leasbian sex picks...uhhh I don't think so. And also, one for who invented bubble wrap. Heh, gotta love the things that lead people here ;)



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist