2001-02-14
22:48:43

So, today is Valentines day. A day overrun with pink hearts and chocolates. A day that is built all around that strange emotion that we call love. What exactly is love though? Dictionary.com says that love is: A deep, tender, ineffable feeling of affection and solicitude toward a person, such as that arising from kinship, recognition of attractive qualities, or a sense of underlying oneness.A feeling of intense desire and attraction toward a person with whom one is disposed to make a pair; the emotion of sex and romance.
Sexual passion.
Sexual intercourse.
A love affair.

To me, love is just so much more. Maybe I am still living in my little fairy tale world, but to me love is more than just an attractive quality. To me, love is when you can't imagine your life without a certain person. When just being able to hold their hand for a moment is enough to make your day wonderful.

I also believe in true love. I believe that there is a true love out there for everyone. I am not so deluded by fairy tales, however, to believe that a person will always recognize that true love. If that were true, there would never be divorce and other such things. To me, true love is the kind of love that never fades. That you can look back on years later, and realize that your love is stronger than it was the day you met this person. I hope I can be lucky enough to be with my true love.

I think love is an over rated word. It's become as common in the english language as the word 'the.' To me, it's such a powerful word, and it carries so much more meaning to me. I hate it when Miss Popular goes out with Big Jock and says she "loves" him, and two weeks later, after Big Jock has been exposed for being Little Jock, Miss Popular is going out with Stallion Jock and her heart belongs only to him. That's not love, it's lust. I hate it when the two become mixed up and intertwined. Love and lust are two seperate things, although I understand lust is sometimes a part of love, but lust is not love.

Hmm, that's my entry for now, maybe I'll write something later, who knows.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist