2001-05-28
8:53 p.m.

Thunderstorms have always facinated me. It's almost like the sky and the ground are participating in some sensual dance. They are only allowed to touch for the briefest of seconds, as lightning streaks down and connects them. It's almost like a long, slow tease, giving a little, but never enough. The sky roars with it's power, and the ground opens to the steady fall of rain. It really is beautiful, and thrilling. Just to sit on the front porch, eyes closed, allowing all the sounds, and smells to over take me, it always finds a way to lift my spirits.

One of my favorite memories about a lightning storm was about three years ago while on vacation in Florida. My dad, step-mother, and were in a little condo right on the beach. Our porch over looked the water. I remember one night, waking up at around three in the morning, and being drawn to sit out on the porch. I walked out onto the porch, and the air was humid, like it is right after a rain storm, but it was also cool on my skin. I sat in a chair, watching the mood reflect on the water. It reminded me of those post card images you see splashed around in magazines. Then, I watched as a bold of lightning streaked gracefully out of one of the clouds hovering over the ocean. I watched as the flash of light hit the water, causing it to spout up, and splash quietly back down. I was amazed as I pulled my knees up to my chest, resting my chin on them. The night was so quiet, so still. All I could hear were the waves lapping at the beach, and the distant rumble of thunder. I don't know how long I sat out there, watching the lightning do it's little dance, leaping from one cloud, to the next, and then zooming toward the ocean. It was like I had been transported a million miles away from my body. I no longer had to think, to act, I had simply to be. When I was finally to sore to sit and watch any longer, I went and curled up in my bed, falling asleep instantly, with the weight of life lifted off my shoulders.

I'd like to thank everyone who commented on my last entry. I can never express how much it means to me to know that something I have written as affected another person for the better. Jenne wrote a really good entry about coming out tonight, I think everyone should go and read it.

Well, the thunderstorm is getting closer, and I would like to get this posted before the thunderstorm, in it's thunderstorm nature, decides to knock the power out.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist