November 13, 2003
11:58 a.m.

We moved my grandmother into a hospice facility last night. All she really did was sleep, she's just so tired of fighting I think. We also got results on a blood culture, and found out that she has a pretty nasty staff infection. Because she is in hospice, they won't be giving her any antibiotics, which gives her between two and three weeks. I went and laid in the bed with her for about an hour last night. It just seems so unreal. I mean, I know that every one has to die, and that it is honestly the best thing for her, but I am going to miss her. My grandfather and her were such a big part of my childhood. When my mom was working double shifts at the hospital, I stayed with them. For the first part of my life, I was with them almost as much as I was with my mom and dad. I'm not sure if I prefer this way, or the way my grandfather went. I mean, with my grandmother, at least I get to say my goodbyes, but on the same note, do I really want to formulate the words to say goodbye. I don't know, I hate watcing her slowly slip away. For lack of a better word, this whole thing just sucks.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist