June 12, 2003
9:13 p.m.

Whew, my new schedule is kicking me in the butt. Home...work...school...home..sleep..work.. yeah, you get the point. I have just been running myself ragged this past week or so. It's not really a bad kind of ragged, if that makes sense, just a busy kind.

Monday, I started my new position as Dr. C's assistant. Dr. C is kind of known for being moody, so, I figured that with Kathy gone, she would be in a pretty bad mood. To my complete shock, she was in a great mood, which made the day that much better. Asside from the horribleness of getting up at the crack of dawn, which I haven't had to do in ages, I really enjoy the morning shift. The days seems to go by faster, and I get to experience a lot more.

I also started school on Monday, which was a bit of a fiasco. Friday, I had to go in and take a MATH placement test, to see if I could score high enough to take an ENGLISH class. Don't ask me, Georgia is just stupid like that. Anyway, I didn't score high enough on the test, most likely because it was stuff I had barely learned, or hadn't done in over three years, so, they told me I had to take a math class before I could take any other classes. Okaaaay. Well, they then decide that I need to take an english placement test. ::rolls eyes:: I got with in five points of a perfect score on that, so, in the end, I may end up trying to clep english. We'll see. So, I went to see an advisor, who tried to put me in a five o'clock class, which wouldn't work with my work schedule, so I ended up having to go beg the head of the math department to put me in an already full class. Apparently my begging skills are pretty darn good, cause I got into the class, so I am happy. They then told me that the class started that night. So, I go to work, leave early, rush to school to make it to class on time, only to find out they had all been canceled. Heh, I was a bit pissed. Ah well, thus is life.

Monday, when I got to school, I went to shut my truck door, only to find that, for some reason, my door wouldn't shut. I finally realized that the little latch thing that would normally hold the door shut had somehow fallen into the locked position. I was about to be late for class, so I didn't have time to fool with it, so, I ended up tying my door as shut as it would go, and going to class. After class, I went to the nice little security call box, thinking I would get a nice security guard to come and help me, and I'd be on my merry way. HEh, yeah right. Apparently, the main office that the call box goes to, doesn't have radio contact to my campus, and it would take them twenty minutes to get into contact with them. Let me tell you how safe that made me feel. "Yes, I am being attacked right now" "Oh, it will take us twenty minutes to get some ont out there" Yeah, real comfortable. So, because I was so tired, I eneded up bungee cording my door as shut as it would go, and driving home. Every time I would make a sharp turn, my door would swing open. It was..well..interesting. I finally got it fixed though, thank goodness.

Class isn't bad, the professor is a good teacher, and funny as well. We've been getting out of class at least a half an hour early which is always good when you have to be up at six the next morning. The work isn't too bad, so far it's all been a review of what I already knew.

Wednesday, I had a rather interesting day at work. We had a horse that we needed to do surgery on. I was pretty nervous about doing the anesthesia, because I haven't really had practice with it. He was a young horse, so he was pretty skiddish. We put him the stocks, and were about to give him an injection of drugs to make him a bit sleepy, when he decided to rear, and try and jump over the door of the stocks. When he did, the ropes that had him tied in caught, and he ended up flipping out head first. It wouldn't have been so bad except his hind foot got stuck between the door, and the side of the stock, and, when he lunged with as much force as he did, it cause the ropes to tighten down so much that we couldn't get them untied. So, here is this young horse hanging from ropes on his halter, and a hind leg. Luckily, Kathy had given me a knife that I always carried with me, so I was able to cut the ropes free, but there was nothing I could do about the leg. We ended up having to completely knock him out under anesthesia, tie a rope around his leg, and pull him up to get him free. Then, we have the anesthetised horse no where near the horse surgery room. So, we roll him onto a matt type thing, and drag him into the surgery room. Now, yes he was a baby, but he still weighed three to four hundred pounds easy. Luckily, the surgery went without a hitch, and the anesthesia wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. After that ordeal, I was pretty tired though. I went to school, looking a bit frazzled.

After class, this guy Denis, who speaks with a very strong foriegn accent, calls my name. He begins to walk with me out to the parking lot. Now, I should have realized something was going on, for, earlier in the class, he had complimented my calculator. The same calculator that a lot of people in the class had. I was a little too tired to put two and two together. Anyway, as we are walking, he asks me somthing, but, because of his accent, I couldn't quite understand him. After asking what three times, I finally understood. He had asked me out on a date. Heh.. it took me completely off gaurd, so I kind of stuttered a little bit, trying to think of way to nicely say no. I was tired, and my brain cells weren't functioning at top speed. I ended up blurting out something along the lines of 'Can I take some time and think about it.' Stupid, I know, don't tell me. It was pretty flattering though. Now, I just need a good reason to say no that won't hurt his feelings.

Anyway, that's what's been going on. Gotta love my life :)



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist