2001-04-16
5:01 p.m.

I read an article the other day that just made me sick to my stomach. Some guy was talking about how lesbians were "taking over the OBGYN field of medicine," and how dangerous they were. He was proclaiming that lesbians should be denied acceptence to medical school. He began talking about how horrible it would be to have a lesbian looking at you, and know that they are imagining orgies with you. What, do lesbians have no self control, do we just imagine sex with anyone that moves.

If that wasn't enough of an insult, he began to go into detail of how to recognize a lesbian. He recited the stereotypical short hair, mens clothing, no make-up list. Not every lesbian in the world does that, only a small handful. Take a look at me, my hair goes down to my mid back, and although you will never catch me in a dress, my clothes are very much feminine. I don't wear make-up, but it's only because I don't want to take the time it takes to put it on, not because I am trying to make a stand.

I don't know why I let that article bother me so much, it's just some close minded individual who is too busy making generalizations to actually take time to research. Well, I'm not perfect, my feelings can be hurt by stupid things too.

Wow. My last entry got an amazing response. My guestbook and E-mail box were overflowing with support, and compassion. I had a lot of E-mails thanking me for my honesty, and for being so true. A lot of people said that by reading me, they had learned something about themselves. My response..thank you. Thank you for making these hard times, and stuggles worth it, because if I have helped on person in any way, then it's been worth every moment.

I feel obligated to write some deep, soul searching entry, as if it's required of me or something. I was reading what people had written about me on their profiles, and I was struck on how much my last entry really touched people. I mean, most of them had something to the affect of 'just read her.' It's like they were saying that I didn't need a discprition. Maybe I'm putting too much into it, but it just felt really good.

I feel like there are so many people rooting for Jenn and I. Rooting for two people that they have never met, never layed eyes on, but somehow we have touched their souls. So, thank you for standing behind us.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist