2002-08-05
11:35 p.m.

One of my little kittens is trying to die on me. For the past two days it has been lethargic, and very cold. I am, however, too stubborn to let him die without one hell of a fight. The kitten hates me now, since I have been giving him antibiotics, cough medicine, water, and his milk. He has crackles on the right side of his lungs, and I am hoping the cough medicine will help him get it out. I hate to see animals die.

You know how there are those people in your life, that will give you the shirt off of there backs if it will help you. Well, I am very greatful to one of these people. Her name is Susie, and I've been feeding her horses any time she goes out of town for almost a year now. She has always paid me more than my fair share, and would never listen when I told her as much. When she heard of my money troubles, she increased that amount. She and I are about the same size, so, she gave me tons of clothes. I didn't even have to go shopping at all this summer, I got my whole woredrobe from her. Nice clothes. Fifty dollar pairs of shorts. She always makes sure that I don't feel like she's giving me charity, and I don't. She treats me like a second daughter, and I love her for that.

A couple of weeks ago, I was feeding her horses, when her 'baby' came up lame. The doctors both thought it was an abcess, until about a week and a half ago, when she suddenly became lame on her other foot. She could hardly move. This horse, Play-on, is the horse that Susie's father gave her just before his death, so the horse is very special to her. When the diagnoses of founder was finally given, I had to hold Susie as she sobbed. While horses can live with founder for some time, there can be severe bouts of pain, which Play-on is in the midst of right now. Susie lost one horse to founder, and she is worried she might lose another. Play-on has been at the clinic for a week, and Susie has been up there every day. When we took X-rays, the bone in her hoof was severely rotated, almost poking out of the foot on one side (to non horse people..basically, very bad thing). Since we have begun treatment, the bone has not gotten any worse, which is a good sign, it hasn't gotten better, but we are going to give it time. I am also happy to report that this weekend, Play-on, who has been acting very sick lately, finally seemed to be her normal self. She slammed me into a wall, and kicked at me, which is the Play-on I know and love. Her lameness is less severe, so, hopefully, we will be able to get her through this, and give her a few more years of pain free life.

Anyway, during this traumatic time, Susie noticed that the boots I wear to work were getting a bit worn, and despite the fact that I told her I was getting my paycheck in two days, and intended to go get a new pair of shoes, she brought me an almost brand new pair of REALLY REALLY nice riding/work boots. I didn't know whether to kill her or hug her. Sometimes I feel like she is just too nice to me. I don't really know what I have done to deserve it. I don't know, I am just very greatful to have her in my life, she is truely a remarkable woman.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist