January 03, 2004
8:04 p.m.

Wow, I have so much to catch up on in here, I'm going to try and be at least a little organized.

December 10, 2003

Had the last of my finals today, and I can honestly say, I blew that sucker away. I have never walked out of an exam feeling so confident. I was a little worried about my other two, but I got my grades a few days later, and I got all A's in my classes, so I guess I didn't do too badly. I am really proud of myself for getting back in saddle I guess you could say. It's been a long road to get here, but I'm doing it, and that's what counts.

December 12, 2003

We had our annual work Christmas party, which seemed a little quieter than last the last two years. It was still fun, just different I guess. Stella was my secret santa, and got me The Lord of the Rings: The Two towers special edition dvd. I was excited about that. Then, in the yankee swap, I managed, with lots of swaping, to get a swear bear. I think everyone was a little shocked that quiet little me wanted it, but I thought it was funny. I don't really cuss, but it doesn't mean I am that horribly offended by it. ::shrugs:: I thought it was funny.

December 15, 2003

Well, this morning was one of those days where you know you should just turn around and got back to bed. I pulled out of my driveway, and was going about fifteen miles an hour when this buck hops out of the middle of a neighborhood, turns toward me, and rams my truck. Me, I don't get the deer that come out of the woods and freeze when the headlights hit them, no, I get the deer wanting to commit suicide that actually hit me. I slammed on my breaks, and was probably going about five miles an hour when he acutally hit me. He hit at such an angle though, that he broke his neck and died pretty much instantly. When I saw he was dead, I just started crying. I turned around and went back home to see how much damage I had done to my truck. I went inside and woke my mom up, still crying. I couldn't decide if I was crying more because of my truck being a bit smashed, or because I had killed the deer. The front end of my truck was pretty dented, but it was still driveable, so I went to work. Nothing went right that day.

December 16, 2003

Went and got an estimate on the damage on my truck. *Only* (said with sarcasm) $2100. ::snorts:: I guess that's what insurance is for. We also had our work Christmas party at Cowboy's. Now, Boss Man decided that he wanted to humiliate us all, and made the party disco theme. I was semi dicoed, but I refused to go out and buy anything new. It was worth getting dressed up, just to see Boss Man though. He was in full disco garb, including horrible black afro. Dr. Lee was a bit tipsy in her pink mini skirt, and then there was Dr. C in her six inch stiletto heels. Poor Cal, who had never been to a work party where alcohol was served sat in the back with a 'deer in the headlights' look. Heh, it was pretty funny. Dr. Fuller even got up and made a fool of himself dancing. I don't think I will ever say I can't dance again when compared to him. The whole party was a blast though. I love watching the doctors I am supposed to respect getting trashed, good black mail material..does that make me evil?

December 18, 2003

Had a horse quit breathing while on the surgery table, scared the crap out of me. Luckily, Dr. C had been doing anesthesia at that point, while the farriers were working on her feet, so it wasn't something I did, thank goodness. Dr. C grabs her stethascope, and I am grabbing drugs, just waiting for the word to give them. She had me give a drug to stimulate breathing, and as I pushed it into the IV, the horse started breathing again. Because the horse was so small (a young pony) we had to use a small animal trach tube, which was shorter than we would have liked. Because the horse had started to wake up a few moment before, she had moved her head, causing the tube to come out. The horse was fine, so no harm done, but that was way more action than I like during surgery.

Dr. C refused to tell me what she wanted for Christmas, and kept telling me not to waste my money on her. So, to honor her wishes, I went out and bought her dogs and cats lots of toys and treats and stuff. When I gave her her present, I put it on her desk, and as she opened her mouth to yell at me, I told her that none of it was for -her- perse, but instead for her animals. Heh, she'll have to learn to be more literal next time. She got me a book on the Triple Crown winners of horse racing. I learned some stuff I didn't know, it was a really cool book.

December 24, 2003

Christmas Eve was a bit of a shock this year. It's always been family time, when my whole family got together, ate dinner, and just..I don't know, were together. This year, not even a phone call from any of them. It just really bugs me. My grandfather worked so hard to keep everyone together, and he died, and it's like everyone stopped caring. It didn't matter that he wanted so badly for us to be a family. I ended up going on a couple of calls with Dr. C after work was out, she was really wanting company, because she would be spending Christmas alone, and, in a way, I guess I was looking for company too.

December 25, 2003

Christmas was really good, even if I did have to get up at six thirty in the morning. See, I have this problem saying no, so, when three people asked me to to take care of their animals, I said yes, not really thinking about it. Well, since I was supposed to be at my Dad's house by ten so we could go to my aunts, and I had nine horses, three dogs, two cats, and a fish to take care of (plus my own animals), I had to get an early start. I ended up making a hundred and fifty dollars for my efforts, so I can't complain too much. I got some new jeans, that actually fit, which is an amazing thing. I am skinny and short, nothing fits me. My mom also got me a rocking horse. I used to tease her that every kid I knew had a rocking horse, except me, and that it has scarred me for life. So, she found an old antique looking rocking horse that goes with my room and bought it for me. It made me smile.

December 31, 2003/January 1, 2004

I barely made New Year's, I think I fell asleep at 12:05. Hey, when you are up at six every morning, it's hard to stay awake for any length of time. I ended up putting an entire 750 piece puzzle together. I'm a real party animal, I know :)

January 2, 2004

LeShay's last day was the 31st, she finally quit for good. Now, Fuller knew that she was quitting, and knew when her last day was. Did he call in anyone to come and help me in the morning though? Psh, yeah right. It was horrible. I ended up not cleaning any stalls, just throwing the horses out in paddocks and leaving it at that. I left the clinic in shambles. I looked at the completely full schedule, and told Stella to call anyone she could think of and get me some help. Cal ended up coming in and shadowing Fuller, while I teched with Dr. Lee, since Dr. C is out of town. Of course, I had to listen to Amy complain non stop about all the work I had left her to do, but I frankly didn't care.

I was taking the weight and temperature on this hyper little black lab puppy, when I happened to flip back a page in the chart, trying to figure out why the dogs name was so familiar. My mouth hit the ground when I realized who this now twenty five pound dog, that was jumping up and down, grabbing my pants leg, and licking my face, was. Remember the miracle puppy I wrote about. The one that we almost put to sleep, and send hime thinking she would be blind and never completely recover. Yeah, well she proved us wrong. She's completely normal, not a sign of the sickness that almost ended her life. I just sat on the floor and played with her, my mouth wide open the whole time. I guess it just shows that you should never give up.

I was very proud of myself. We had this Rotty come in that needed emergency surgery for a pyometra (puss filled uterus). Dr. Lee had to go out, and told me if the dog got there before she got back, that I needed to put a catheter in and get it on fluids. The entire time I have been working there, I have put in five catheters I think. Well, the dog got there before Dr. Lee, and, with the client watching, I got it in first stick. Go me! The dog came through surgery fine, although she did have some pretty bad bleeding at one part, but she should be fine.

Whew, it's been a busy month, and I know that there is something I have forgotten.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist