2002-04-02
11:30 p.m.

This week has slowly started to be the week from hell. I guess it started on Saturday, while working at the clinic. It was hectic, and busy, and not too pleasent, as animal death never is. Then, because I can't say no to Dr. Fuller when he gets that pathetic please look on his face, I was talked into doing evening treatments. Leslie and I cleaned up the clinic, pretty darn good if you ask me, and left at around three thirty. I walked back into the clinic at six thirty, to find that two dogs being boarded together had gotten into a fight, leaving some wounds on one dog's face. I called Dr. Fuller to report this, to find out, Dr. C, in a rather nasty mood, had come into the clinic, and declared it extremely messy. I looked around, a bit dumbfounded, going through my check list..floors mopped, counters wiped off, cages cleaned... Dr. Fuller then continues on, saying he got to the clinic shortly after Dr. C, and said he didn't find it that bad, but, that he guessed we needed to step up the cleaning a bit. No big deal. So, after lots of fighting, and getting slammed into the metal table, I managed to shave around the dog's wounds, dress them up nice and pretty, and leave..at ten o'clock. Just in time to have spent 14 hours at the clinic.

Sunday, I walk in at nine, to find a horse trailer pulling up behind me..and no doctor. Turns out, that the horse, having eaten too fast, no had a large amount of grain stuck in his throat. Hmm, do I know anything about choked horses...no. Where is Dr. Fuller? Oh, only an hour away. ::sigh:: I checked the horse's vitals, assured the client, that for the moment, he was fine, cursed Dr. Fuller, and went about my day. Dr. Fuller shows up, he four year old son behind him. After three hours, we finally cleared the food out of the throat. During that three hours, Dr. Fuller fussed at me for not knowing how to set up the endoscope..something I have NEVER worked with while being there, Fuller's son was making all sorts of noise, not on purpose, but it makes working with a horse kind of hard, and I was fussed at for letting the tube that was in the horse's nose go, nevermind the fact that I was being lifted off of the ground by the horse's rearing at the time. Grr. Then, Dr. Fuller decides to put a pony under anesthesia and do a exploratory surgery on a wound on the horse's butt. Four hours later, being yelled at for walking too slow, and not having X-rays developed fast enough (something I can't really rush) the surgery was done. I was juggling the surgery, and explaining to the next emergency that Dr. Fuller had not forgotten their dog. Then, to top it off, the dog had bloody diarehea on my hand.

Dr. Fuller finally goes in with the dog people, and asks me to give the sleeping pony some meds. So, there I am, on the floor, a needle in the pony's catheter, when pony decides to wake up. Heather is pushed against a wall, stepped on, while trying to keep the pony from crashing into anything else. After finally getting the pony, and the dog squared away, I do a quick clean up, and go home for an hour before I come back for evening treatments. I am jerked off my feet several times by a horse I am giving meds too, scratched by a cat, bled on, and peed on. I clean up the barn, which is a bloody mess, I sweep and mop the treatment area, and I finally go home, leaving a note apologizing to the morning crew about any mess I left. I spent eleven hours at the clinic on Easter Sunday. Oh, don't worry, it doesn't end there.

Dr. C had asked me to take a bunny rabbit home, and watch it. She never said a date, so I assumed she meant this weekend. Well, Monday, I woke up, and his foot was swollen, so I brought him into the clinic. Well, Dr. C is really rude to me, barely answering my questions, then leaves to go on a call. I wait around the clinic for her to rebandage the rabbit's foot so I can go home. When she gets back, she tells me to put the rabbit back in it's big cage, and that I wasn't supposed to take the rabbit home over the weekend, that she wanted me to take it home on Wednesday. Then, she turns around and tells Leslie that if she ever finds the clinic in such a messy condition as it was on Saturday, that somebody would be without a job. WHAT? Even Dr. Fuller, who worked at the clinic on Saturday, said it wasn't that messy. No, laundry had not been done, but that was because Boss Man told me to not run the machines when no one was there. Other than that, almost everything was perfect. I honestly don't know what she expects from me. Sunday, I am there alone, with no help, not only cleaning, but assisting with whatever emergencies come in. It was Easter Sunday, and I am not getting holiday pay, I am getting minimum wage, and I have worked ten weekends in a row. I am sorry, but I physically can't stay there an extra three hours to make sure every single little thing is done. I always make sure the important stuff is finished. The cages are always clean, the floors are mopped, the exam rooms are stocked, there are plenty of surgery packs, and every animal is medicated, and has plenty of food and water. I was so upset that I left the clinic, and started crying in the car. I was really hurt by Dr. C's harsh words.

Then, the little kitten that I was trying to rescue started getting sick, and, this morning, after my Mom and I had been up with him all night, he finally died. We tried, knowing it was pretty much hopeless in the begining, but it was still really hard to see them go that young. Rest in peace little Hudini. I guess he is up there with Phoenix right now.

Money situation is getting worse once again. Bad enough to send my Mom into major tears. I don't know, sometimes, it just seems, that no matter how hard I try, things just seem to get worse, instead of better. Thus is life I guess, but, this hard rain has got to stop sometime..right?

It's times like these when I crave that touch. The touch of arms around me, and lips in my hair, murmuring that it will all be ok. Not just a stranger though, someone who loves me, and, someone who I love in return. I think that's something I miss. Being loved by someone, and being able to return that love. Does that make any sense? ::Sigh::

Bring it on week from hell, because my umbrella is strong.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist