October 05, 2003
12:47 p.m.

Things at work finally came to a bit of a boiling point last week. LeShay injured her back, so she had to call in sick, leaving me alone for quite a few mornings. On Tuesday, the stalls down at the barn were all a disgusting mess, I ended up almost completely stripping two of them, as well as stripping a third one. It took me an hour to make the barn presentable, and, by this time, Dr. C had driven up. There was one stall that I didn't have time to finish. I figured it was no big deal, Amy and Cal could get it done that afternoon. So, I went about the day, and when they came in I told them that I was sorry I didn't get it finished, and could they please do it.

Dr. C and I were taking x-rays on a foal, and, several times, I kept catching Cal and Amy doing basically nothing. I ended up going to school. I was so tired Tuesday that I almost fell asleep in class several times. After I got home and took care of all my animals, I went straight to bed. The next morning, I was still extremely tired, and, a little bit grumpy. I get to work to see the unstripped stall staring me in the face. Lack of sleep piled on top of getting screwed over one too many times ignighted my temper. I cleaned the entire barn, but I didn't touch the stall.

I am pretty good about not leaving anything for the afternoon shift to do, I try and get everything done in the morning. The entire time Amy and Cal have been working there, I have actually asked them to do maybe five things. Generally, I get stuff done. The fact that they blatently CHOSE not to do the stall, because I know they had plenty of time to do it, really pissed me off. Dr. C arrived early, so we went off on a call. When we got back, around lunch time, we were getting ready to do a horse surgery, when I saw Amy walk in. I walked in, and, because I don't like confrontation, asked her nicely if she would go down and strip the stall that I asked them to do yesterday. This girl, who has been working at the clinic for under three months, and who is two years younger than me, turns, sticks her nose in the air and says "If you started it, then you are going to be the one to go down and finish it, because I am -not- going to do it." I must have looked like a fish the way my mouth dropped open. "Excuse me?" "I'm not going to do it." I swear, I have never, in my life, been so close to resulting to physical violence in my life. I know my limitations, and I had to turn around and walk away at that moment, or I was going to hit her. I walked back to horse surgery, trying to calm down so I could think rationally. I was trying to pull up a drug, but I was shaking so bad, I couldn't even get the needle to go in. Dr. C looks at me, and asked what was wrong. I told her what had just transpired between Amy and myself. Dr. C threw her stethascope down on the table, and walked back to tell Amy to do the stall. As much as I hate for other people to fight "my" battles, I was a quite happy as Dr. C went back and told Amy to do the stall. I was shocked when Dr. C came back into surgery a look of rage on her face. When Dr. C told Amy to do the stall, Amy looked at her, and started to tell her, a doctor, no. Dr. C cut her off, and told her she had better do it with no complaints, Amy turned, and walked away, basically ignoring her.

We did the surgery and such over a two hour time period, and still, Amy had not done the stall. Instead, she did the kennel at two o'clock, meaning she would just have to do it again three hours later, she swept and mopped the entire clinic, once again, something she would have to do three hours later, she cleaned windows, something that really didn't need to be done considering I had done it a few days previous. Basically, she did anything and everything to not do the stall.

Now, Dr. Fuller and I have reached an agreement of mutual hate. He hates me, I hate him, we both know it, we move on with our lives. So, for me to willingly seek him out to talk to him means that I am pretty angry. He is supposed to be the manager, which, he does a really crappy job of doing, but that's an entirely different matter. I pull him into a room, and tell him what Amy said and did. He then tells me that Amy has been making some complaints about me. According to Amy, I just don't help enough in the afternoons. I don't sweep, or mop, or do the kennels, etc. Okay, number one, I am technically off at three thirty, when I am there beyond that time, it's on my own time, and normally because Dr. C has asked me to stay for one reason or another. Because of that, my only 'obligation' is to help Dr. C. Number two, I am not one to pull rank, or wave job titles around, it always pissed me off when other people, like Holly, did it, but, the fact of the matter stands, I got a promotion, I don't HAVE to do that crap anymore. If I make a mess of dog hair on the floor, yes, I am going to sweep it up. If a dog poops in his cage, I am going to clean the cage, but, I don't have to sweep and mop the clinic at closing. I don't have to do kennel in the evening, and other such stuff. Number three, it her job, she is freaking kennel help, that is the entire reason she was hired, to clean. Dr. Fuller, however, agrees with Amy, I just don't do enough (the fact that I work my ass off doesn't mean anything), even though he admitted twice during out little confrontation that after three thirty, I was off, and what I did was my choice. I was fuming. I thought about the number of times that I did stay afterwards and do the kennel, or sweep, or other such stuff because I felt bad when Amy was there alone. Fuller then told me that if I saw something that needed to be done, I just needed to do it. Okay, 99.9% of the time, if I see something that needs to be done, and I have the time to do it, I do it. Fuller knows this, but he just want to baby his precious ass kissing Amy. After he brought up the stall another ten times, I finally look at him, and go 'It's not about the stall. I'll go down and strip it right now, my problem is that I asked her to do something that was completely within my power to ask her to do, and she got attitude with me, and, she flat out ignored a doctor asking her to do it as well." Fuller mumlbed something about talking to her, although, I know he was cheering her on inside his head, for, as much as he hates me, he hates Dr. C even more. He then brings up again that I shouldn't save stuff for her to do, and I should just do it. ::counts to ten:: I then told him that I stripped three stalls, and I didn't have time to do it. He still wasn't getting it, so, in a rare flare guts, I actually got a little bit smart with him, which is completely out of my personality. I said "What do you expect me to do, Dr. Fuller, look at Dr. C in the middle of a horse surgery, and tell her to run her own anesthesia so I can go down and strip a stall so the afternoon staff won't be bothered with it?" I think the comment went over his head, because he didn't really respond. He tells me I just need to get along with her. Like it's my fault. I think I am pretty easy to get along with. I get along with every other person at the clinic, even LeShay. Amy, who only Fuller and LeShay like, however, is completely perfect, and I am just not making an effort. Then, he tells me that I should be more like LeShay and help out more. Hmph, that opened a whole seperate can of worms. LeShay doesn't really do a lot for the clinic, she focuses on what will be best for Fuller. If the cage of one of Fuller's patients is dirty, she will clean it, if it's Dr. C's patient, however, she won't touch it. I finally realized that I wasn't going to win, I have burned my bridges with Fuller because I refuse to believe he is God, I saw through that whole cherade a long time ago, and because Amy and LeShay are his little minions, he will always take their side. In the end, Amy won, she hid in the clinic so long that one of the other girls in the afternoon, Brandi, ended up doing the stall. Since then, Amy has completely ignored Dr. C and me, and, I have gotten to that point that is beyond caring. I will do my job, and that's it, I will not help Amy out any longer. I did talk to Boss Man about the whole thing, but, I doubt he will do anything about it either.

It really makes me mad though, because, I don't like -not- getting along with people. I have a people pleasing personality, I want people to like me. It doesn't rule my life, or anything, but I just don't like not being liked...if that makes any sense. The whole thing is just a big load of crap.

School is still going pretty well. I got a hundred on my biology research project. I don't like Spanish very much, but I still have a high A average in that class as well. Hopefully I can keep these high grades, because I am going to need them to get into vet school.

Dink finally got neutered last week, I don't think I have enjoyed a dog neuter that much in a while. Right before we knocked him out to take him into the surgery room, he jumps up, and puts his paws on my chest. Here he is, standing there with this completely innocent look on his face, when I feel the wetness on my shirt. The little ::stops herself from saying some not so nice words:: was peing on me, while standing there looking completely innocent. The dog is the spawn of satan I tell you. Of course, I have been leaving those minor details out when I've been trying to find him a new home. Here is a picture of him

And speaking of pictures, here are some of me and the little twit that I call my horse :)

Me giving her a big hug


Elisa taking a bow for the camera



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist