2001-05-03
8:05 p.m.

I went to the hospital to see my grandmother today, I can't even being to explain how much I hate to see her laying in a hostpital bed. The good news, however, is that she is doing a lot better. The doctor says her congestive heart failure isn't the bad, the respiratory doctor said her lungs were clear, and the kidney doctor says her kidneys are getting a little better. I guess it was a relief to know that I will have her a little longer, so I can have that time to make sure she knows all the things I want to tell her. I could see the relief on my grandfather's face today when the doctors were saying how much better she was. Without my grandmother, my grandfather is only half a person.

I got a taste today of how cold, and indifferent some doctors can be. I know that to them, the person lying in the hospital bed is just another patient on their busy schedule, but to me, that person is a loved family member. One doctor walked in, looked at my grandmother, and turned and walked out. He didn't talk to her, he didn't talk to us. My mom had to run after him to find out anything. The doctor just seemed so cold, and uncaring. I wanted to grab him, and make him look at her. Tell him that she gave birth to three daughters, that she has four grandchildren, that she has three great grandchildren, a loving husband. I wanted him to see that she is a person, not just the patient in room 178.

Although the doctors left a lot to be desired, the nurses were wonderful. They took that extra minute to tell you a joke, or actually talk to my mom and I. They were wonderful. It's just amazing to see the difference in their personalities. I'm not saying all doctors are like that, cold and distant, but a lot of the ones taking care of my grandmother are. The nurses, however, seem to have more contact with the patients, and the people who care for those patients. I don't know, just an observation of my experiences today.

Yesterday, I found out that I am more popular in my little neighborhood area than I thought. My mom and I were siting, watching tv, when our next door neighbor, Diane, came to the door in a panic. She told me that one of our dogs had gotten hit. With her, was her next door neighbor, Melissa, who was also panicked about our dogs. I of course, freaked out, and ran up my driveway as fast as I could. Diane told me that the people had stopped, and had tried to find which dog they had hit, they thought they had hit my youngest puppy, Piper. Piper appeared to be okay, so I look around to make sure I had all of my other dogs. Because we have black labs, who are known to dig, our dogs escaping the fence in the back yard isn't an unusual occurance, but since we have almost a full acre in our front yard, the dogs normally don't leave out property. As I whistled, I noticed that my dog Maggie was missing. I began to panic worse, because I have a really big soft spot for her. I think Diane was as frightened as me, as she frantically called out Maggie's name. My mom flies off in the car, as I go looking in the woods across the street. I then go back to my house, to see if she had gone under our porch, when I heard the sound of leaves cracking. I have never been so happy to see her running toward me, muddy paws and all.

After she got back, I went to tell my next door neighbor. She was all smiles, informing how often she allows my three youngest puppies into her house. I hide my head, it's pretty bad when my dogs are out so often that the neighbors start letting them into the house. Melissa then tells me how she often lets my little puppies in to play with her eight month old child. It's kind of weird that my dogs are so popular, and people trust me so much that they actually allow my dogs into their houses. I also found out that there are several other neighbors who know me as 'the dog girl' I mean, when I was trying to explain where I lived once, the response I got was 'Oh yeah, you're the girl that has all those dogs.' Glad to know I am so popular :)



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist