2002-05-10
11:23 a.m.

I know I haven't been writing in here very often, but work, and life have been crazy. Not a bad crazy, but more of a busy crazy.

Last week, while Leslie and I were feeding Kathy's horses, we stopped at the local horse auction. We have both gone many times, just for fun, looking for that perfect dream horse. Just as we were about to leave, we came up on this beautiful horse, who was very frightened, and was fighting a bit with the man who was handling her. Leslie and I began talking to her, and she instantly calmed down, and, when we went in to visit her, she thrust her head into our arms, and sighed. I connected with her, suddenly, this horse had wormed her way into my heart, nestling right beside the place where Cracker had been. The next thing I know, Leslie and I are on the phone with everyone we know, trying to see if we can come up with the money to buy her.

I talked to my dad, and as an early birthday present, he said he would pay for the horse. To sum up, Leslie and I ended up on our knees, in a crowded arena, begging the guy to sell her to us for the amount of money we had. The next thing I know, we are signing a check, and we have a horse. After the rush ended, I realized we really didn't know very much about her. What had we just done? After giving away two of my junk saddles, we found a man to trailer our new horse to Leslie's house.

The next day, we decided to see how much our three year old horse knew. Because she was only three, I was expecting her to be very unexperienced. After putting a saddle, and bridle on her, she stool there, looking quite bored with the whole situation, as if she was saying, 'Why the heck are you taking so long, let's ride.' I gently got on to her back, and had Leslie lead me around. The horse, which we named Ellisa, did perfectly. In a moment of bravery, I told Leslie to take the lead rope off. Ellisa and I were one, and she did everything I asked her to do. She walked, trotted, cantered, stopped, and backed up as if she had done it every day for her entire life. Dr. Fuller came out and checked her, and gave her a clean bill of health. I just bought my dream horse for $650. A horse so wonderful, I could sell her today for at least $1500.

She is a very unique looking horse, being mixed with a paint, and an appaloosa. Here are some pictures of her.


Our first ride together


A picture of her face.

I was already floating on cloud nine at this point, when my mom gets a call from her disability lawyers. They tell her to sit down, so my Mom and I just knew the court had denied her. I then watched as her face went from panic, to a big smile. When she hung up the phone, she began to scream, and grabbed me in a hug. After two years of living on no income, and fighting to get her the disabilty, we won. Not only did she get the regular disability, but a second part giving her an extra $200 a month.

All looks good for buying the property. We even found another one or two properties that would work if this one fell through.

I then went in to take my pretest for the GED. I was emensely worried about this, fearing that I wouldn't do so well. I took the highest level pre-test, and got the highest scores in my class. I should be taking the real test shortly, then I will be starting college. I will finally be on the road to getting into vet school.

I have been working quite a lot, two weeks straight with one day off. Leslie, put the saddle on Ellisa wrong, which caused it to pinch her, and she bucked. When Ellisa bucked Leslie went off, not once, but three times. After going to the hospital, she found out she had bruised ribs, cracked pelvis, cracked hip, a concussion, and a bruised kidney. Needless to say, she hasn't been to work in a while. Then, Jody, the girl I share my shifts with, ahd her step-sister die, so, I am kind of working two people's jobs right now, which is a bit tiring. It's not so bad though. Hopefully, when this all calms down, I will be updating a bit more frequently.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist