2001-07-14
10:23 p.m.

So, here is how today was PLANNED to go. I would get up around eight, take a shower, and go to the vets by nine. I would then leave around one thirty, come home, take a nap, then clean my room. After that, I would eat dinner, and be out to the stable by six thirty to help my friend train her horse. Then I would come home, relax, and go to bed.

Here is how today ACTUALLY went. I was awoken this morning by a very very loud pounding on the front door around seven thirty. Maggie, one of our dogs, had dug a new hole since yesterday, and gotten hit by a car. Our next door neighbor, John, who loves that dog as much as us, came to the door in tears, the man was actually in tears, and he told us he didn't think she would make it. The prick who hit her never even slowed down. We get Maggie loaded into the back of the car, she was anemic, and very shocky. I told my mom not to even chance driving to Countryside, where I volunteer, but to go to the closer clinic. I had been there to observe once, and I thought they were pretty good. I went in, and informed them that I had a dog with serious injuries in the car, and what did they ask me to do...Fill out a new patient form. They wouldn't even look at Maggie until it was filled out. Then, the lady at the front counter tells me to go get Maggie, and when I ask for help, saying I don't want to jar her, the girl acts like it is about the biggest burden I could have ever put on her. Then, when we take her back, the doctor was efficient, but he didn't even talk to Maggie while he did stuff to her, he gave her no soothing what so ever. Once she was stable, we asked if we could see her before we left, he stood in front of the cage, not even really letting us touch her. He then tells us that he won't call us unless she dies. In those exact words. That really pissed me off. Right now, however, she's stable, and as soon as she is good enough to be trasferred, she is going to Country Side, where she will stay until I get back from Canada.

After that, I went to Countryside, since all I would do at home would be worry my butt off. Somehow, I got suckered into surgery. A dog had chewed up a rubber ball, and it had become wedged into her intestines, so we had to open her up and pull it out. Well, my "half a day" ran until five. That left me only thirty minutes to eat before I had to drive to the barn to help train the horse.

I get to the barn, and instead of the thirty minute ride I was expecting, it turned into a two hour ride. When one has not really ridden in almost a year, two hour rides are baaad ideas. I fear what I will feel like tomorrow, in which I go and do it again. The horse I am riding, is actually really good. He does some bucking at the canter, but most younger horses do that in a playful manner. As long as I stay in the saddle, I don't mind a little playful stuff.

Lets not forget that Heather was in such a hurry this morning to get Maggie to the vet, that she threw on yesterday's clothes, and didn't take a shower. Thank god for deoderant and srub shirts, or else I don't think I would have allowed myself near a client today.

Oh, and the good news is my mom got the results from her scraping cancer thingy. It turns out the cells are just pre-cancerous, or just the early stages, which means it's treatable. ::Big sigh of relief:: Thanks for your concern.

Well, due to lack of sleep, I am going to hit the sack. My bed is screaming for me. Although it isn't as comfortable as Jenn's bed, which I am going to steal one day, I'm going to go to sleep.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist