2002-04-22
8:20 p.m.

Well, it looks like things are finally going my way. The big news I talked about yesterday, it appears to be ninety percent sure. What is it, you ask. A house.

Yesterday, while driving to work, my Mom and I saw a sign saying eight acres, with a barn for $150,000. I was jokingly telling my Mom, that if it had a house, it would be perfect. She was saying, that for the property, that price wasn't bad, and she would go and check it out while I was at work. So, I went to work, and when I came out, my Mom was smiling. Turns out the property did have a house.

It's a three bed room modular home, on a basement, with two fenced in pastures, a five stall barn, two large storage sheds, a wrap around deck, a swimming pool, a fenced in area that I think even my dogs may have a hard time getting out of, and three donkeys (just smile and nod there..long story). All of this for half of what we paid for this house. It's like a dream come true.

So, we went and knocked on the lady's door, and she opened it, and was chatting for a moment when she stopped and looked at me. Now, just having come from work, I am thinking I must have a glob of blood hanging off of my nose or something..when she suddenly smiles. 'I know you! You work at Countryside.' I smile, not really recognizing her. Then I saw her dog, and knew vaguely who she was. She walks in, and shows us the house, introducing me to her husband as 'the girl from the vet office.' My mom didn't even get an introduction. The house is okay, there are some carpet stains, and some minor little problems, but nothing that I really care about at all.

Then, she starts showing us the outside. I was in heaven. The next door neighbors have a lighted arena that the lady, Rebecca, said they would let me ride in. The barn is in need of some repairs as well, but nothing major. The pastures are securely fenced, and full of beautiful green grass. I then noticed donkies out in one of the pastures, and was asking her about them. The more I looked, the more I felt I knew one of the donkies. Then, she mentioned his name. I did know him. He had been at the clinic for about three weeks for a bad infection. We began talking about that, leaving my poor mom standing there in silence. She then said that she couldn't find a home for the poor things. I told her, that if she didn't end up finding a home, and we got that house, that we would be happy to keep them. That seemed to please her a lot. I kept oohing and ahhing over the place, and when we got in the car, I told my Mom we just -had- to get it. I mean, it would help so much with the money problems, and I would be able to get horses again. I just..wow. To have a horse again. We could also bored a couple of horses, which would help with income.

So, my Mom and I went home, and discussed it in full, and after talking to Rebecca, and explaining our money situation, she said she would be happy to work out a payment plan with us, and do "creative financing." So, today we called her, and told her we wanted the property.

Now, last night, my Mom was saying that there was another person before us, that had said he wanted the property. I was jokingly saying "But she liked me Mom..we connected!" Mom laughed, saying that that didn't really matter when business was concerned. Well, we when called today, she said she had turned down $155,000 CASH, because she liked my Mom and I so much, and wanted us to get the house. I almost died. See, working at Countryside has helped me in more ways than I ever could have imagined :)

So, it looks like I will be moving in a month, as long as everything works out. I am so excited!!



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist