2002-01-06
5:56 p.m.

I remember when I was in school, and everytime I was sick, no matter how bad I felt, I was relieved. Thankful that I didn't have to go through the day, I could just hide out in my bed. Looking back, I realize how unnormal that was. I mean, I know every child has the 'I don't want to go to school' blues, but this was different. I used to love school, love learning. I mean, I hated homework, and all that normal stuff, but it never affected my strive to learn, to have knowledge. When I started having my panic attacks, not only did I not want to go to school, but, I didn't even want to learn. For a short amount of time, I didn't even want to be a vet anymore. I wanted to hide away from the entire world. That was when I started to know I something was wrong with me.

I had forgotten about those feelings until today. I had to call up Dr. Strong this morning, and tell him I was sick, and I wouldn't be able to go into work today. When I didn't have to go to school, I would practically do a happy dance, today, I have been urging myself to get better so that I can go to work tomorrow..so that I can learn. It made me realize that I really am almost back to my old self. I -want- to learn, I -want- to be a vet. I am happy.

Remember that horse I talked about a few entries ago. Well, here are some pictures I got of him

There are only 2500 curly horses in the US, and he is one of them. And he's just so cute too. One of the only times I have been glad to be so short and small, because I am the perfect size to ride him.

I realized that in the distress of my last entry, I forgot to mention that there is a new member in my little animal family, and it wasn't even me that brought her in. My mom went to the doctor to have a rash checked out, and the doctor happened to remember that I worked at a vet clinic. So, the doctor, is all sweet to my mom, gives her some free medications, and then, ever so nicely mentions this cat that was thrown on the doorstep of the clinic. Well, mom comes home with a cat. The doctor had given us sixty dollars, and told us to get her checked up, and find her a home. It's hard enough to find a home for kittens..but a six year old cat..so, guess who has a new cat now.

I always have to come up with a good name for my animals, so, I spent a bit of time watching this cat. She has some of the most expressive looks I have ever seen, including the "eat shit and die" look..which I get a lot from her. Well, as the kitty gave me this look, I came up with a name for her. Tanya. That is Dr. C's first name, and since I have received a BUNCH of "eat shit and die" looks from her, the name fit the kitty.

Well, at work, I was telling Dr. C about finally naming the cat, and I told her my reasonings for it..which, produced the infamous look. "See, that's the look!" I said, pointing at her expression. I then had to avoid the pen being thrown in my direction. Hehe. Oh, and here is a picture that sort of depicts the look I am talking about.

This was taken at the office Christmas party, where Leslie was brave enough to give Dr. C thong underwear with smiley faces on them. Even -I- am not that brave ;)

On that note, we have a new girl working at the office, in the same position as me, so I am left to train her. I'm not sure if she will work out or not. She has the want to learn, but I don't know if she has the staying power. Plus, she is scared to death of Dr. C. I admit..sometimes, the all black clothing, and evil stares, can be a bit..disconcerting, but for some reason, I have clicked with Dr. C from the begining. The new girl, Kristi, however, literally hides behind me every time Dr. C comes in the room. Dr. C isn't too fond of Kristi either, so who knows what will happen. Because of my training her, I have had to go in for about ten days straight, which ended up getting me sick. Bleh. Dr. Myers, the owner of the clinic, did tell me that in about two months, he is going to promote me to a veterinary assistant. ::big grin::

On to more good news, my grandmother's BUN and CREA (kidney enzymes) were much better today, after a round of fluids, so, she may be able to not have to go through dialysis, which is wonderful. Maybe my new year isn't so bad afterall.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist