2002-02-06
1:29 p.m.

Hmm, lots to tell. Let's start with Saturday...

Because Dr. Strong was being somewhat of a butt, I had to be at the clinic at seven in the morning. Dr. Strong had told Dr. Myers (Boss Man) that we didn't have everything done by nine, when appointments start. This only happened one time, and that was because Dr. Strong was in the clinic at eight o'clock with two emergencies. Anyway, everything was done at eigyht fifteen, and Leslie and I were twiddling are thumbs.

We had two cats in the clinic with a urinary blockage, which was severely messing up their kidneys. Dr. Fuller asked me to try and run the blood work, since Leslie was having problems. All I wanted was a BUN and CREA, two little tests. The stupid, good for nothing machine was deciding not to work..at all. I tried everything. I respun the blood, again and again and again. I tried getting the slides from different packs, I tried doing it one at a time, and the whole time, Dr. Fuller is breathing down my back, asking for the results. I finally got the CREA, and he told me it had to be wrong. Hmph. Finally, we gave up, and sent it off.

Well, everything was looking good, as if I were going to get out of time, when Dr. Myers told me he had a c-section coming in, and could I stay. ::grumble:; Yeah, no problem. He was going to by me lunch, so I couldn't complain too much. Well, I figured I would have everything done when he got back, and we could pop the puppies out, and it would all be good. Yeah, haven't I learned anything about assuming yet?

The clinic was closed, and I was mopping the front client area when a man busted through the door, a look of sheer panic and terror on his face. The look that says 'Oh my God, what do I do.' He looked at me, 'Is there a doctor here?' I nod, and he begins runing out to his car..'I have an emergency.' He begins to explain how his dog, while playing ball in the back yard, suddenly lifted his paw, screamed out, and colapsed.

When I got to the back of this mans car, I knew the dog was dead. His tongue was hanging out, and his eyes were glazed. I scooped the sixty pound dog up, not even noticing his weight, as I ran into the surgery room, Dr. Fuller and Leslie right behind me. We got the dog on onxygen, and began CPR. I was breathing for the dog, Dr. Fuller was compressing. We gave the dog Epinefrin, Atropine, Lidocaine, nothing worked. We got the heart back momentarily, but the dog never took a breath on it's own. Soon, the heart failed as well. I continued breathing for the dog, until Dr. Fuller shook his head, asking me to turn the oxygen off.

The man seemed okay, and, after agreeing to a necropsy (animal autopsy), he went home. Well, Leslie and I went ahead and put him in a bag, preparing to have him sent off. Well, I went back to finish mopping, I was doing okay handling the death, when out of the corner of my eye, I see his car, with three children. I ran back into the back, telling Leslie to get the dog out of the garbage bag. We had barely gotten the bag open, when the guy walked in. His little girl ran up to the dog, throwing her arms around his neck, crying. Leslie and I quickly exited the room. At seeing that, I was already on the verge of tears, but I was holding it together, when the little girl came out of the room..looking so lost. I opened my arms to her, and she fell into them, sobbing. At this point, I didn't know what to say, I just told her that her dog was watching over her in heaven, and such as that. By the time she left, I was crying freely. That was really hard.

Then, Dr. Myers got back from his emergency, and told us to get ready for the c-section. He decides not to put the dog on gas, but to just give it a single injection of Domitor. He then numbed the area, and began to cut. When he got to the uterus, he pushed at it, and said that all the puppies were dead. So, we got the trash can ready as he pulled out the first puppy. Well..it started moving. Well, then we rushed to get the sack off of his face. Well, because Dr. Myers had told us not to worry about it, we hadn't gotten out hemostats, so, we were holding the placenta clamped with our hands, while slinging the puppy to get the goop out of it's throat. While holding a puppy, and rubbing it to stimulate breathing, I am searching for our little packs of hemostats. I am throwing instruments everywhere. I finally give up, and open a brand new surgery pack. Before I know it, both Leslie and I are holding two puppies, while trying to get drugs into them, and rub them at the same time. It's very difficult. Then, the mother dog starts to wake up in the middle of surgery, so, while holding two puppies, I try and get the gas going and such. It was quite humorous. In the end, we saved the four puppies, the fifth puppy was already dead when we pulled him out, having been stuck in the birth canal. It made my day a little better after losing the one dog.

Well, I walked out of the clinic at five, four hours after the clinic actually closed. Some day I will actually get out of there on time..really.

Went and rode Curly on Sunday, which put me in a wonderful mood. Spent the night at Leslie's, and Monday, we went to the health department to try and get her on medicare. Well, she took a pregnancy test, and it came out negative. Well, then we called my mom, and we went up to the office where she used to work, and we used a dopler. Well, we found the placenta easily, but there was no baby heart beat. We then took a blood test, which also came out negative. Leslie had miscarried. She and Brannon were devistated. I was suspecting it would happen. She was smoking quite a lot, was very stressed, and was missing part of her cervix. I think it was actually for the best, because she just wasn't ready yet. I hope when she is ready, she will be able to carry the baby to term.

I believe that that's all that has happened to me lately. The story of my life, I tell ya. Never a dull day.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist