September 21, 2004
7:56 p.m.

I could have killed Rowdy last night. He's my good dog. My dog that never does anything bad. Last night, I let him out to go pee. He peed, and then went into the woods to poop, which he does almost every night, so I waited a few minutes for him to come back. He didn't come back. I whistled for him, which always has him galloping back to me. Heh, no dog. Okay, he'll be back in a few minutes. I went and changed into my PJ's, and went back outside, whistling some more. No luck. I was a bit panicky, because, like I said, this dog never runs away or does anything bad. I was so exauhsted, that I really wanted to go to bed early. At ten thirty, an hour after Rowdy disappeared, I went out and looked for him in my truck. No dog. I then sat on the couch, and watched a movie, and ended up drifting off for a few minutes in the middle of it. As soon as I started dreaming, I dreamed of all the horrible things that could have happened to him. I woke up with a start, and went out in my truck looking again. At twelve thirty, I went out looking again, on the verge of tears. I am going through these neighborhoods, whistling, hoping I don't wake anyone up. When I pulled back in my drive way at a little after one, sitting on the front porch, wagging his tail, looking innocent is Rowdy. I didn't know if I should hug him, or kill him. The fact that he had found something God awful to roll in almost made me sway toward that latter. But, my dog that has never slept in a crate since I got him, spent that night in the crate last night.

Now, since I didn't get to bed till almost two last night, I was exauhsted this morning. I don't do well on no sleep. Then, to make things even better, today is my late day at the clinic, meaning I was there for almost twelve hours. I feel like a zombie. The clients we delt with today seemed to be particularly stupid. Some people really don't need to own horses. ONe lady can barely touch any of her horses, and really doesn't know anything about them, but she wants to breed the really old mare, that shouldn't be bred. Yeah, that sounds like a bright idea. Grr.

Then, when I get home, I find that Maggie, who I had put in a crate since I knew I would be at work for a long time today, and I didn't want to clean up pee spots, had escaped her crate. She got into the Heartgard, and ate an entire box and half of the stuff. Now, I am watching her for ivomec overdose signs. Just the perfect end to the perfect day.

I am going to go and eat something with lots of chocolate. That makes everything better.

Does it seem like I used the word then an excessive amount in this entry?



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist