2001-10-13
4:47 p.m.

So, last night I slept next to a beautiful, young girl. Okay, so maybe she wasn't of the human variety, but, who wants to be bothered with technicalities.

Yesterday, while I was at work, I looked out the window, and noticed a skinny little dog crossing the street. Suddenly, a car came over the hill, just missing her. It scared the poor dog so much, that she just crouched down in the middle of the road, and wouldn't move. As we all rushed out of the clinic to get her, we watched as three more cars narrowly avoided her. The dog was shaking, and wouldn't even walk. She had to be carried into the clinic. All day, when I would walk back and check on her, I would find her in the corner of her cage, making herself as small as possible. Valerie, Leslie, and I took her outside in our courtyard, and spent a lot of time loving on her.

It appears that she has been abused, because any movement of your hand to touch her, sends her cowering to the ground. Every rib in her body can be counted, she's so malnurished. I showed her to my mom, the same mom who has given me the no more animals speach a hundred times, and I came home with a new dog.

She is so timid, so frightened, she won't venture more then three feet from my side. Last night, she slept curled up against my back all night long, breathing in time with me. I made a promise to her, I told her that I would take care of her from now on. I plan on keeping that promise. My mom, of course, is in her, 'I can't believe I did it again' stage, but she's seen the changes already present in the little dog after only being her for a few hours. Her little stub of a tail has been wagging, and she no longer cowers in a corner, prefering the comfort of a human lap.

I believe she is a boxer mix, but the vets at the clinic also believe she could be a great dane mix, or a rodesion ridgeback mix. I don't care what she is, she is beautiful to me. Last night, with Marcella's help, I searched through a baby naming site, and found a name for her. It's a strange name, but I liked the meaning. Her name is Karima, which means gerousity and friendship. That's my new baby.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist