2001-08-13
9:42 p.m.

I don't want to get into a battle, so all I will say, is yes, I only tell one side of the story, because it is all I know. I know you love your daughter. I've seen how you are with her, she is your world, and you want to protect her. And believe it or not, I love her too, and when I found out she was hurting, that is why I backed off. She and I made a mistake by lying to you, but it's not something that can be changed, what's done has been done. I just hope that someday you can forgive me.

*******

I have been trying to find an old teacher of mine for a few months now. The last time I talked to her was five years ago, so I never really told her what an impact she made on my life. This woman was amazing. She came into school every day, and she made every single student in her class feel like they were wonderful. Even the "worst" students could go home feeling accomplished from her class. Well, today I found her. I was amazed because she actually remembered me. Not only did she remember me, but she remembered my mom. I shouldn't have really been shocked, because that was the kind of woman she was, but for her to remember someone who was in her class seven years ago just amazes me. Here is part of what I wrote to her:
"The main reason I wanted to get in touch with you, is I really wanted you to know what an impact you made on my life, as well as many other students, I am sure. Six years later, I still talk about what a wonderful teacher you were, and still are. In the short year that I knew you, you taught me so so so many things. You made me realize that it was okay not to be perfect, and to just be me. That's a hard lesson to teach, but you did it so elegantly. I admired you so much, and I still do. I remember that you cried one day in class, and I remember being so amazed that my 'idle' cried. It was like a realization that crying wasn't bad. Something my mom has tried so hard show me, but it was like it finally clicked that day. I've had other good teachers, and I have had some that frankly sucked, but you were a -great- teacher. You would point out the wonderful qualities in even some of the "worst" students. I had teachers that shoved problem students into the corner, forgetting them, but you never did that. You worked with everyone, and you made us all feel great about ourselves. You made us into the best students, the best children, that we could be. That takes someone amazing. I don't think that you ever heard that enough, so I thought I would tell you. I am a better person because of you. Thank you so much for that Mrs. Davis."

If there was ever a teacher who deserved a reward, it's her. Teaching was never a job to her, it was her passion, it was her life. Every student had her phone number, and if we had a problem, even if was eleven o'clock at night, she was on the phone, never complaining. She loved each of her students as if we were her own children. Her nephew died on the day of our fifth grade graduation, and instead of leaving, she said she owed it to us to be there. The principal of the school even came in and told her to go ahead and go, and she said "No, my kids are graduating today." She stayed until the end of the ceremony. To this day, I respect her so much for that. She really did make me a better person. She is someone that I highly admire, and look up to.

So, this entry is dedicated to all those who have taught others, who have changed other's lives.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist