2001-12-26
7:59 p.m.

Wow, lots has happened since I last wrote. On the twenty third, I was looking at my dog, Gracie's, incision..and notices a large lump. When I got to feeling, I felt, what I thought was intestines poking through the muscle layer of her incision. I called the vet that was on call, Dr. Strong, who told me that it was just fluid, because she was over-reacting to the suture material. I tried to explain to him that I could actually feel the two walls of the muscle seperated..but he didn't believe me. So, at 7:30 in the morning, of the twenty-fourth, Heather is at Gwinnett Animal Hospital, watching Dr. Strong put a needle in Gracie to draw out the fluid. Well..guess what..he didn't get any fluid. Hmm. He then went and got the ultrasound, only to find that I had indeed diagnosed correctly. I felt really good about that...vet school, here I come :) Long story short, because Countryside was closed, I had to have emergency surgery done there. $140 later, Gracie is home, and feeling good.

Tuesday was Christmas, and it was wonderful. My mom has always been able to find me the best gifts. She gave me a book entitled "Of Women and Horses," and it is beautiful. The pictures, the stories, wow. Then, my dad, seeing some of the clothes I have been wearing lately, went all out, and got me some great stuff. A lot of the time I don't think he is listening..I think in his own way, he is.

My mom also got me "Vet Emergency," which is a computer game where you get to be a vet. It's great. I can't stop playing it. She also got me a book for veterinary technicians, which teaches me a lot of stuff. So, yes, Christmas was great.

Oh, and guess what I have discovered..I am a 'pretentious twelve year old who needs to calm down.' Well, thank you guestbook signer (who 'pretentiously' called himself "The Man"), I don't know what I would do without you.

Okay, sorry to go off on that tangent, but bad days seem to make me a bit..grumpy. I had to put down a fifteen year old lab today. She was one of the sweetest dogs I have seen in a while. The owner just dropped her off, and told us to euthanize her. She was blind in both eyes, and couldn't even put her back leg down with all the arthritis. What was worse, is that she just wouldn't go down. We finally had to give the euthanasia solution directly into her heart. I just held her head in my arms, telling her that she was a good girl.

Then, of course, was Dr. Fuller being..well..being himself. He is always really slow with clients. We ended up having two people wait for fourty five minutes. I am apologizing like crazy. I finally got mad, and poked my head in the room, and -strongly- hinted that he needed to hurry. He finally came out of the room..just minutes before I was going to start banging my head on the side of a cage.

We had to get X-rays on a goat, and he had me do one by myself..which I haven't done before. I did it perfectly....heh..until I was walking toward the developing room..and dropped the film casset, exposing the film. Grr. Well "Mama said they'll be days like this..."



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist