July 20, 2004
5:45 p.m.

The little puppy that had the blood transfusion went home today. I would have bet any amount of money that dog wasn't going to make it. Dogs with a packed cell that low don't live. Sometimes dogs just amaze me with their will to survive.

Dr. Myers came into the surgery room while Dr. C and I were doing a C-section, and he actually apologized for how things were handled with Lucky. He admitted that he had been having a bad day, and he took it out on Lucky. He said if he had seen any one else doing what he had done he would have fired them on the spot with out a second thought. He also added that he was ashamed of himself. He seemed very sincere, but I think it will be a while before any one can begin to forgive him. THe only thing Dr. C said during his apology was 'It's not us you should be apologizing to,' which made Dr. Myers go a little pale. I think Dr. C was hurt the most by it, because she was the only person that really got along with Lucky. I don't know, hopefully things will get better. Cal has been taken off of kennel duty, he can go on farm calls, and clean, but he can't handle the dogs. Hopefully things are on their way to getting better.

Heh, I got one on Dr. C today. We were supposed to remove a lump on a dog, but Dr. C couldn't find the lump. She spent about ten minutes looking, and finally shrugged, and said she just couldn't find it, that maybe it had resolved on it's own. I could have sworn I had felt it that morning, so I walked over, and in two seconds flat, I went, 'Is this the lump?' She felt, and kind of looks down, and very quietly goes, 'yeah.' She is always getting me, because I always miss stuff that's right in front of my face, so, it was fun to be on the other side for a change. Not to mention last week when she was having trouble getting the blood to flow for the transfusion, to which I pointed out she hadn't turned it on yet. Hehe. Kelly and I both had a good laugh over that one.

I have to take Rowdy in sometime soon to get some lumps checked out on him. I'm almost afraid to bring him in, because one of them just doesn't feel right, and I'm scared to know the diagnosis. That's the one problem with working in a vet office, you know what all -can- be wrong. OF all my dogs, Rowdy is my baby. I've had him the longest, and he's been the best friend anyone could ever ask for.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist