October 10, 2004
3:42 p.m.

I think I have far more pet problems than the normal person. I woke up last saturday at around one in the morning to Piper laying against my back, shaking. I thought at first there must be a thunderstorm, because she is pretty thunderphobic. On really bad nights, she will actually climb under the covers with me, and just sit there shaking. I shook he and told her to get over it, but she didn't stop trembling like she normally does. I then turned on the light and realized she was having a seizure of some type. Her front legs were sticking straight out, her head was back,her eyes were glazed, and she was just shaking. I picked her up and put her on the floor because I was afriad she would start seizing worse, and fall off the bed. What can I say, my mind functions kind of weird at one in the morning. Luckily, I think the movement brought her out of the siezure, and she tried to stand up. She was really out of it, and ended up colapsing back over twice before I grabbed her and just held her down. I went upstairs and got the phone, intending to call whichever doctor was on call. By the time I got back downstairs Piper was acting completely normal. Then I debated for about twenty minute on whether I should wake Dr. Fuller up or not, it was like one thirty in the morning at this point. I ended up not calling, because she was acting okay, and there really wasn't anything Dr. Fuller could have done at that point, but I woke up like every thirty minutes to check on her. She hasn't had any other problems. I brought her in last monday anyway, but Dr. C said just watch her for any other abnormalities, and if any surfaced we would do blood work. Otherwise, she looked perfectly healthy. Does this stuff really happen to other people?

Dr. C was at a vet conference all last week, so I pretty much spent the entire week cleaning at work. Loads of fun, let me tell you. ::Rolls eyes:: Friday was a bit interesting though. Because all the doctors were out of town, we didn't have a doctor to cover small animal. We played around with the idea of just shutting down for the day, but we had way too many people coming in to pick up and drop off dogs. Michelle then deicided we would just work on minimal staff, meaning just me in the morning, and just Mandy in the afternoon. Dr. Myers also agreed to cover any walk-ins and emergencies that showed up. Dr. Myers really doesn't do much small animal, so I found myself doing most of the stuff, while he just nodded and agreed with what I said. I think he realized by the end of the day how much stuff he has forgotten while working only on large animal. It made me feel kind of smart though :)

Bleh, I have Jury duty this week. I am hoping it's only on Monday, because we had two horse surgeries scheduled for this week, and I would feel bad if they got canceled because of me. Oh well, it's my "civic duty" nothing I can do about it.

I have a midterm in English tomorrow, which I am really not looking foward to. I don't do well writing essays in an hour time period. I like to take my time. It's going to be a nightmare. Hopefully I can pass, because like I said before, my English teacher loves me for some unknown reason. She came up to me last class to hand my essay back, and told me that she found a few mistakes, but she just couldn't take off very many points because the essay was so wonderful. I spent the rest of the class trying to dodge the "Die Bitch Die" looks I was getting from the rest of the class. Come on, what English teacher actually gives 98s on essays? I'm not going to complain though, I am quite happy with my A's.

I had to help unload a hundred bales of hay yesterday, and my arms are incredibly sore. Elisa is totally not worth it, she's nothing but a big dog. I should have made her unlaod her own hay. I guess it wasn't really that bad, it could have been worse.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist