2001-07-28
11:18 p.m.

Sometimes I get so sick of letting myself always be so passive, be pushed around. I watch other people around me make decisions, choices that ultimately affect me, and I let them do it. I often don't get my say, not standing up for what I believe in. It's one of the bad things about me. Something I wish I could change. In general, I am a very passive person, I want the people around me to be happy, so I normally sit back, and just enjoy the ride. I think I am far to passive at times though, often getting stuck with the bad end of the deal.

Today, at work, I got sick of it. The next few paragraphs are going to be a long drawn out description of my dislike of this girl. I know a lot of you don't want to hear it, but I want to get it out. Holly, was hired by Dr. Fuller about three weeks ago. At first, I liked her okay, until she started getting an attitude. When she was hired, she didn't know much at all about meds, or anything in the vet office, so we were all trying to help her out, give her a crash course if you will. She's hired on as a vet tech, which means there will be times where she will be in an emergency situation, and will need to know stuff. It began to get a little annoying when I was having to show her stuff six and seven times. Even now, she still has to ask how to draw up simple 'puppy shots.' That doesn't bother me though, because I understand that some people are slow learners. What really bothers me, is when she gets an attitude, or completely ignores me when I try and teach her something. It annoys me most when it puts the animals health in jeopardy. I'm not the only one that has complained, every other vet tech there has also complained, even one of the vets.

Today, Jodie, a girl I have become friends with, and I ended up getting fussed at because of Holly's mistakes. It's her job to give medications to the animals that need it. Well, today she just randomly decides that since two animals are slated to go home, that she will just skip their meds, and she doesn't even bother to check the chart on one of the other animals. So, that's three animals that didn't get meds. Jodie and I quickly give them, but that doesn't stop Dr. Fuller from fussing. He wasn't really yelling at us, just that is didn't get done in general. When I went and told her this, she gives me some crap about the meds not even being written in the chart BS! I saw it written there this morning.

This had happened after a day of me getting angrier and angrier at Holly. It started with her first coming in an hour and a half late, which means Jodie and I ended up having to do all the stalls, and all the dogs this morning. Jodie and I were exauhsted, so we left one stall ONE stall out of nine for Holly to do. When Holly comes in, I tell her about the stall, she turns to me and goes "Well, I'm really supposed to be teching, that IS my job you know." That just pissed me off. She may have a different job title than me, but we all do a little of everything. I can't tell you how many times I have seen vets shoveling horse stalls. I just kind of glare at her, and say "Don't worry, Jodie and I have it covered." She just pushed me over the edge today. Then, she does a half ass job on the stall, and Jodie sighs, and is about to start doing it, even though she was sick. I finally stopped her, and told her that Holly was going to do it, if I had to drag her down there myself.

The day got quite busy, and Holly was of course asking me to draw up the shots, because she is too lazy to learn them. Of course, Dr. Fuller thinks she does them. I don't care, as long as they get done, but I am afraid what will happen if she is in an emergency situation or something alone. Later, Holly and I are doing meds on a foal, when Holly says something about leaving after we are done. Heh, I don't think so. I smiled and said "We can't leave until everything is done, including the stall down back." I got a mean look, but at that point, I just really didn't care. Jodie was proud of me, because she always ends up doing Holly's work, because Holly has a reputation for disappearing when it's time for hard work. After that, Holly checked out two cats, and leaves the cages uncleaned as she sits down and chats with everyone. The clinic isn't some kennel, it's a hospital, meaning as soon as an animal is moved, the cage is cleaned, and disinfected, Holly knows this. Jodie mentions this to me, telling me she knows that Holly isn't going to do it. I have gotten sick of picking up after Holly as well, so I once again garunteed Jodie that it would be done. Guess what, it was done, as was the surgery pack that Holly had been "forgetting" all day.

Dr. Fuller finally noticed me doing everything, at five o'clock, when I was supposed to go home around two. He corners me in the back, and tells me to let Holly do it, because it's her job, and I need to go home and take a break. My poor mom had been waiting for over an hour for me to finish up. I was very greatful to Dr. Fuller. He then kind of yelled at Holly, telling her it was her job, and she needed to start doing it. He then tells my mom as I am getting in the car that she has a really great daughter. That made me feel really good.

Ahh, okay, Holly rant over. As horrible as it sounds, I really wish she would be fired. I don't care if she is rude to me, it doesn't matter, what I care about it when those animals lives are put in danger because of her laziness or stupidity.

I wanted to thank all of you for my congradulations on the job. I am really excited about it..I mean, I will actually get PAID for doing everything I have been doing for the past two or three months, hehe. Yeah, I'm a sucker I know.

Ooh, I got a post card from Maile the other day. It was beautiful, all nice and Hawiiey <--My new word. I love getting post cards from people, tis very very cool.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist