March 01, 2005
5:54 p.m.

t's kind of one of those things that everyone pretty much knows. When you pick up the phone and say, "Hello?" it's basically a nice way of saying "Who is this and what the hell do you want?" Apparently, Mr. Telemarketer that called me today was not aware of this fact. When I answered with "Hello?" his response was to repeat the word back at me. Thinking maybe he just hadn't heard me the first time I repeated the word, to which he responded once again with a Hello?. I paused for a second to see if he would start a spiel or something, but I was met with silence on the line. I finally asked "Who is this" to which he brightly replied, "Yes Ma'am this is so and so with some company and I just want to offer you a free..." I promptly hung up. It's enough that he played the hello game with me, I didn't want to spend an hour listening to all the free things I could have if I just spent a billion dollars that I don't have.

I think I just need a break from work. The only days I really ever take off are when I am deathly ill and can't even enjoy them. My weekend is generally nothing but me catching up on all the things I couldn't get done during the week. As soon as I get caught up, it's Sunday night and it's another week all over again. It's a vicious cycle. I feel kind of bad because Dr. C wanted me to come in and do an emergency surgery with her on Saturday. I don't mind doing emergency surgeries, but I was just so exhausted after this week that I just couldn't make myself do it. Plus, I am not the only person, despite what Dr. C seems to think, that can run anesthesia. I know that she trusts me, and that I work well with her, and know what she wants before she asks, but other people there are perfectly capable. I know she's mad at me, but it wasn't like it was something that walked in the door with it's guts hanging out or anything, it was a planned surgery from friday, and there were plenty of regular staff there on Saturday that could help her. I did not need to come in on one of my few days off to stare at a heart monitor for two hours. I don't why I am trying to justify my actions here, I guess I just feel guilty when I don't give a hundred and ten percent. I really do love my job, I think I am just a bit burnt out right now. Between work and school I just want a bit of a break.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist