2001-09-17
10:46 p.m.

It's funny to look back, and realize that you are growing up. I mean, I know I will always be "daddy's little girl" and "mom's baby," but I'm also morphing into who I am going to be. It's not stuff I want to do when I "grow up" anymore, but, instead, stuff I want to do tomorrow, or next year. I don't know, it's kind of a scary thought.

I still remember, being six years old, and going with a friend to the veterinarian. I was so envious of the vet, and the assistant, just hoping that one day, when I was "all grown up" I would be there too. I look at myself today, and I am there. I mean, not all the way yet, but closer every day that goes by.

Dr. Fuller pulls me asside after a pretty busy day. I had gone into a room, to get a temperature and such on a dog. The dog was so weak, it couldn't stand, couldn't even really lift it's head. The teperature was low, and I checked the gums, white as a ghost. For those who don't know, pale gums is bad. I opened the door, and told Dr. Fuller he should get into the room, I told him I thought the dog might be in shock. I don't know what made me try and diagnose the dog, but after being there so long, it just happened. Later, Dr. Fuller pulls me asside, and tells me "You know, you are going to make a really great vet, and I look foward to working with you."

I kind of stared at him..how do you reply to that? Thank you didn't seem to be enough, and bursting into tears seemed a little over dramatic. He has become one of my greatest supporters, telling all his clients that I am going to be a vet, and a great one at that. He helps me remember what it's all about.

Heh, when I grow up, I'll find the right words to thank him for all the courage, and faith he has given me.

When I grow up...



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist