2002-01-28
2:52 p.m.

The day started off kind of rocky, when I called UGA (University of Georgia) to get some information on the veterinary program. My mom and I had decided that I would just get my GED so I could go ahead and start college classes. Well, when I talked to the UGA admissions office, they told me that I would absolutely -not- get admitted on a GED. My plans took a nose dive toward the ground. They then said that I would also have a hard time getting into a smaller college. I then asked them if it would be possible for me to get into a small college with a GED and transfer over to them. The responded, telling me that, if my grades were good, then I would have no problem transfering. Let me tell you how big of a relief that was. Those were my plans to begin with.

I then called Gwinnett Tech to see if they accepted GED students, and I was met with the affirmative. Oh happy day. Then, I called up, and I am going to set up an appointment to take the GED. If that wasn't already making my day a little brighter, I asked about the HOPE scholarship, because I know about vet school debt. All I knew about the HOPE and GED is that you get a $500 schollar ship, with a good enough score, and that was all I knew. I found out today, that if I have a 3.0 GPA after 30 hours of class, then, I get a full scollarship! Okay, so, Heather is feeling happy now.

I then called UGA back, and asked about vet school. They said that last year, 549 people applied, and 89 were accepted. 54 of those people wree from Georgia. So, if I get good grades, I have a decent shot of getting into the UGA vet program. The fact that I have worked at a vet clinic will help a lot. So..ahh.

I'm going to be a vet. Oh, what beautiful words.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist