August 31, 2002
10:47 p.m.

My day off went well, although I did do a lot of work. I spent a good deal of the morning picking rocks out of Elisa's pasture. I also had to go and spend a billion dollars getting her hay and feed. Ah, but I must admit, it is fun hauling stuff in my truck :)

For not having been ridden in over two weeks, Elisa was surprisingly wonderful. The only problem I had with her was the fact that she was sure the small jump I was going to take her over was going to kill her. We were going right toward it, and, at the last minute, she turned side ways, almost knocking me off, and took off at a gallop. I got her under control, and finally, after a lot of convincing, got her to go over it. After that, everything went well.

Poor Susie has been having quite a rough week. Her horse, Play-On hasn't been getting any better. Friday we did a procedure that means Play-On will never be able to be ridden again, but, hopefully it will save her life.

To do this procedure, we had to lay Play-On down, lift her onto a surgery table, and then do the surgery. Because I have done this so many time, I have never really thought about how it looks. I was inside, when I came out to Susie crying, having just thrown up. She started telling me how horrible it looked to watch us do that to Play. I started thinking about it. First, the horse is drugged so that they get a bit wobbly. Once they are relaxed, they are hit with more drugs. We then have one person hold the head up, and two or three other people push the horse up against a padded wall. The horses legs then buckle, and the horse pretty much flops over. No matter what you do, you can't lay a horse down gently. Then, cotton rope type things are put on the horses feet, and a chain lift is used to hoist the horse into the air. The horse is then pushed against a wall again, and a large table is rolled underneath them. The horse is then let down on the table, and tied onto their backs. It actually is pretty horrible looking unless you are used to it.

Regardless of traumatizing Susie, the surgery went well. Hopefully, it will help Play-On, because she is one horse I don't want to hold as we put her down.

Anyway, I am going to go watch a movie on tv, so, good night all.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist