2001-12-18
11:56 p.m.

Phoenix, the kitten, died late last night, or early this morning. For the past two or three days, he seemed to be getting cold a lot, but we kept him on a heating pad, and he seemed to feel better. Last night, when I put him in my lap, I noticed he was a little bit lethargic. Instead of climbing up on my shoulder, like he always does, he stayed in my lap. This morning, when my mom noticed he wasn't bothering her for his morning feeding, she looked in his box, and he was gone.

It really got to my mom. When she came out and told me this morning, she had this look of utter panic on her face. When she got the words out, she just started bawling. We sat and cried together. I just keep reminding myself that I gave him a wonderful life. He would have been put down that night, but I gave him a life, I gave him something he had never had. I gave him love.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist