2001-10-26
10:19 p.m.

Yesterday was my mom's birthday, and I didn't have the money to get her anything. If that wasn't enough to have me feeling bad, I ended up working until ten thirty last night as well. By the time I got home, all I wanted was my bed. Taking X-rays of a hundred and ten pound dog, every fortyfive minutes, with no sedation, when the dog has a dislocated hip, and is forced to lie on his back, makes you tired. Really tired. I picked her a flower, and gave her a little self-made card, which, for her, is enough, but I would have liked to get her something.

The good news, I guess, is that we found a house a little closer to the clinic, that would be really nice for us. It hasn't been finished yet, but it's a three bedroom ranch, with a bonus room over the garage. It's small, but quite cozy. Even though it had no walls, I feel in love with it. Since we have decided that it is almost impossible for us to stay in this house, we have made an attack plan. We will move in with my grandparents for two months, while the other house is being finished. While we are moved out, we will borrow money, and fix up this house, and sell it. Hopefully, we can get enough, since this area is becoming popular, to pay off the mortgage, and put half down on the new house. I would then, only be five minutes from work, have a house, that is essentially perfect for my mother and I, and be out of debt. Although, I really don't want to live with my grandparents, not because of them, but because of the time it would take for me to get to and from work, and the fact that there really isn't enough room for us all in their house. It's only for two months though, it's like a drop in the bucket of time..right?

I know I have been bad about updating lately, but when I know I am in a down mood, I try not to write as much, because I, personally, don't want to hear myself complain. It's all the same old stuff that I have said before, just with a tinge more wine to it.

While in surgery on thursday, Dr. C, Leslie, and I began talking about southern dialect. Dr. C was raised on Rhode Island, so, she speaks with a northern dialect, as far as her accent, and words go, while both Leslie and I were born and raised in Georgia. First up for discussion, was the word 'Y'all' A word despised by northerners, and embraced by southerners. Dr. C refuses to say y'all, except in mockery. So, after arguing about the usefulness of the for about ten minutes, we moved on. When people in Georgia get in their "really" southern accent, our grammer goes out the wall. Phrases such as "I ain't gunna" and "She done lost" pop out of our mouths. Dr. C, grammar nazi kept making fun of every bad grammar sentence that escaped out mouths.

So, that got me thinking on the subject of southern dialect. In Georgia, any soft drink beverage, is known as a coke. Our conversation goes something like this:
person 1:You want a coke?
person 2:Sure, what do you have
preson 1:Sprite, Dr. Pepper, Coke, etc
Now, asking if you want a soda is acceptable..but if you say do you want a 'pop', that is a no-no. Another funny thing is the football team, the Geogia Bull Dogs. Here, they are simply the Dawgs. Not Dogs, but Dawgs, calling them anything else is bad. Also, older generations will put r's where there are none. Window=Winder Tomato=Tomater and Potato=Tater. The phrase, over there, is transfered into 'yander.' It's actually very complex, hehe. I just thought that was kind of interesting :)



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist