2002-03-14
11:14 p.m.

Tonight, my Mom and I watched the interview with Rosie O'Donnell and her view on the gay adoption ban in Florida. Generally, around my Mom, I try not to flash the whole lesbian thing around. While she is accepting it, she's not all the way there yet, and I feel it rude to flaunt it. Tonight, however, I couldn't stop myself from screaming my support in the words that Rosie was saying. Then, to my complete surprise, my Mom began agreeing. We had a nice talk, and, I really think she is getting there.

As I listened to Rosie and the Lofton family talk about the Florida gay adoption ban, I just began to think. I am a seventeen year old girl, and I am a lesbian. I still have trouble saying that word..lesbian. Not because it's not true, but because I still fear the stigma placed on it. Look what happened in my relationship with Jenn. Her parents found out, and suddenly, they saw me as the devil, the one who came in and corrupted their daughter. They never knew the story, they never knew the love. I have come to terms with everything now, and, though the word still fumbles out of my mouth, I am proud to say it. I wonder, however, what makes a heterosexual couple any better than a homosexual couple? Just because I may love a person of the same sex, does that mean that I have any less love for a child? Am I any less capable of nurturing a child?

One of the studies that the Florida legislature holds onto so dearly, is one proclaiming that children raised in a gay family, will most likely turn out gay. If that is how they base this..then why, when I was raised in a heterosexual home, did I turn out gay? Also, you know the reason I think there may be a slight increase in the precentage? Because, those kids feel comfortable enough to be able to admit it, and not try and go through their life hiding it. They are just more open, and ready to accept that they are different.

When asking a man from the Florida legislature tonight, if he thought gay people chose to be gay, he said yet. He was then asked if he chose to be straight. No, he said, he didn't choose to be straight, he just was. But, he felt that gay people had a choice. Bullshit!

Why would anyone choose to be made fun of? Why would anyone choose to spend every day wondering if they are going to be beaten, and hurt because of who they love. I didn't choose to be gay. I wouldn't wish it on anyone. I had to watch my Mom hurt. I had to have a girl, that I loved with all my heart, and still do love, ripped out of my life. I have to lie to people I love, hurting myself, just to keep them from hurting. Oh yeah, I would deffinately choose this path alright.

Back to the Florida adoption ban. If those people would just take a step back, and see beyond the hatred swirling in front of their eyes, maybe they would see the children. Children without a home, without a family that loves them. Maybe they would see the smiles on the children of the Lofton family, children who are already home, children in no need of a new home. When does the judgement on what makes a good parent reside, not on the actualy ability of the person, but on what they do, behind closed doors. When did it stop mattering about what a person can give to a child, how a person can help them grow? Well, may those in support of this law be ripped from the arms of someone they love, simply because of a stupid, out of date, prejudice.

Ah, but then again, what do I know. I am just a seventeen year old child. WEll, it's obviouse to me, that I know far more than some of those in Florida. Bravo to all those brave enough to stand up, and say, I am who I am, and I won't change. Bravo.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist