2001-01-25
03:44:33

I'm going to Florida with Jenn tomorrow for her grandmother's birthday. Jenn is going to show me where she used to live and go to school and everything, I think it will be fun. Jenn's mom has already told me that if I mention the dangers of smoking one time while I'm in the car that I am going to get thrown out :). So, if I suddenly don't write for about a month, you can assume that I never found my way home.

Here in Georgia, the Department of Human Resources has come up with a new law that I think is crazy. My great aunt, who was like a second grandmother to me, has advanced alzhiemer's. Basically she is already gone, she doesn't recognize anyone, and can't carry on a conversation, nor can she feed herself. This was her worst fear, and before she got so bad, she told my mom, who has power of attorny, to please make sure that no heroic measures were taken to save her life. She didn't want to live trapped in her own body. At the moment, she is in a nursing home, with my uncle. The nursing home was under orders that she was a DNR. Well, now under this stupid law, the nursing home is required to preform CPR until paramedics arrive at the home. This means that they are going against my aunts wishes at a DNR. It really pisses me off, because I know that my aunt wouldn't want to live like this, and if they preform CPR on her, then it might prolong her life, a miserable life at that. Grr.

My mom and I were laughing about how interesting life at my house is. Tonight, for example, my mom and I were dancing, for fun, and here is partof our conversation:
Me:I hate it when other people lead, I'm going to have a sex change just so I can lead. You know...
Her:Ouch!!
Me:What's wrong?
Her:I just stepped on a piece of Rowdy's (dog) bone.
Me:Ouch, that must of hurt...whoa!!
Her:What happened?
Me:Someone just stuck their nose up my butt..it was Max (another dog)
Her:See, they don't only do that to me..Maggie (yet another dog) let go of my shirt! Maggie, don't eat my pants either! Maggie!!
Me:That's what you get for making fun of me..Gilly (guess what, another dog) let go of my shoe! Drop it, Drop it!!
Thus the story of my life.

Well, I had better go and pack, since Jenn and her mom have some deluded idea that we will actually leave at nine ::holds back laughter:: So, I will be gone until Monday, so don't worry about me when I don't respond to E-mails or anything.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist