2001-11-29
11:09 p.m.

Flaming goat heads...not how I wanted to start my day at work. I went in yesterday, and there was a client there, with her six week old goat, to get it dehorned. She left, and we took the goat into the surgery room, and got it hooked up on the gas anesthesia. Well, Dr. Myers way using a mask that was too big for the little goats face, but I thought nothing of it. I ended up being the only one in the room, assisting him. Basically, I just had to hold the goat down, should he start waking up. Well, to dehorn the goat, we burn the base of the horn, deadning the nerves and such. Well, when the hot iron hit the hair, it would momentarily flare up, no big deal..right? Well, if you have a mask that is leaking oxygen, which is extremely FLAMABLE, it does present a problem. One minute, I am holding the goats legs, the next, I am in the back corner of the room, and the goat's head is on fire. What had happened, was when one of the hairs flared up, the oxygen that had been leaking around the face mask ignighted. It burned some of the hairs on the goats face, as well as the eyelashes, but it left the goat unharmed..thank God. Needless to say, we are making some provisions. Hehe.

Michelle, one of the techs, came in, while I was still standing shocked in the corner. She looked from me, to Dr. Myers, to the burnt spot on the towel..'What happened' I kind of mumbled 'goat's head..fire ball...eak' After the story was explained, and we were sure the goat was unharmed, we all started laughing, because you have to admit..flaming goat heads is an interesting thing. Michelle went and told the whole staff in the clinic, of course having to include my panic face. So, the rest of the day, the staff would look at me, and be reminded of the goat, and start laughing. Or make some horribly lame joke, such at "Barbecued any more goats today." What was even worse is that I laughed at the goofy jokes. I mean really, it's not every day that a goat catches on fire right in front of you. What's funny though, is Dr. Myers made us order another fire extinguisher..hehe, wonder why...

The, there was the tickling at the back of my throat. It didn't bother me, so..I ignored it.

At five, we had a lady come in with a dog that, when I did a fecal, was pooping a very very very large amount of blood. We did everything we could think of to find out what was wrong with this dog. X-rays, blood work (on the machine that I hate), PCV, everything. We couldn't really find anything out of the ordinary. So, we gave it some medications to help settle the stomach, and sent it home. By the time we finished with all that, it was almost eight o'clock. My tickle had turned into a very sore throat. I couldn't go home quite yet, however.

The last tech went home, so I stayed to help Dr. Fuller with a horse that was coming in. The horse had an upper respiratory infection. I got a shower of snot. ::shudders:: The owner didn't know how to hold the horse, so, I ended up having to grab it's ear to keep it from rearing. I ended up straining a muscle when the horse got a little wild. Joy.

By the time I got home, my sore throat turned into a sore throat, stuffy nose, head ache, and ear ache. I blame Dr. C considering she was sick the entire week before she left on vacation. Must kill her when she gets back. ::music from psyco plays in background::

I drew Dr. Fuller for our Christmas party, and I have no idea what to get for him. Anyone with any ideas, please e-mail me, or sign the guestbook. He's somewhere in his thirties..with two kids and a wife. We can spend up to twenty-five dollars. Please, I need help. ::pouts::

Okay, well, lovely cold and sinus medication is kicking in, so I am going to curl up in my bed (after I push Rowdy off of it) and go to sleep



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist