2001-02-26
05:11:56

Heather has decided that she is just not destined to have an alarm system in her house. She has also decided that she needs to stop talking in third person :) All alarm systems have some sort of evil vendeta against me. Last night was going really nice, I got to cuddle on the couch with someone special, and watch X-files, which was actually a good episode tonight aside from the ending. I was all nice and warm in my bed, and after tossing and turning for an hour, I was right in the little land that you are in just before you really get good and asleep, when I hear a beeping sound. It sounded almost like a beeper was going off. So I get up out of my nice warm bed to see what the annoying sound was. It's the alarm system. I remember my last experience with an alarm system, which goes something like this:

Imagine being sound asleep when the most annoying sounding fire alarm you have ever heard goes off. You rush out of bed, expecting your house to be engulfed in flames and see..nothing. That's right, nothing. So, the obvious reason for the fire alarm to be going off when there is no fire, is that it's batteries are dead. So, good old Heather climbs up on a chair, pulls down the fire alarm to see...no batteries. Gee, how wonderful, an electric fire alarm with lots of wire. So, the next obvious thing to do would be to cut the wires connecting the fire alarm. So, my mother and I go downstairs into the basement to cut those wires, to find them...already cut. This is never a fun thing to find a three in the morning, so my mom and go back up stair, and glare at the alarming fire alarm hanging by it's wires from the ceiling. My mom gets an evil smile on her face, and gets some wire cutters. She clips all the wires, and you know the scary part, it alarmed for a good three minutes after it was compeletely cut from the ceiling. Explain that to me. So, there is bad experience number one with the fire alarm.

Back to tonight. Remembering that last experience, I opt to wake my mom, cause I am not touching another alarm. So, my mom gets up, and goes to punch in our code, when instead of the slightly annoying beeping, it begins to do a very loud and annoying alarm. Well, my mom punches in the code, and does anything happen? NOPE! So, we pick up our phone to call the system people for help, but guess what? When the alarm begins to alarm, it takes over the phone line, so we have no phone. So, out comes my mom's handy dandy cell phone. So here she is, trying to yell at the guy over the blaring alarm. And she continues to be transfered from person to person telling the same facts over and over again. Then, these people tell us that our alarm isn't going off, that is doesn't show it on their computer. Which is the point where my mom gets a mean look on her face and walks the phone over to the alarm box thing, and holds it up to it. "Now tell me that the alarm isn't going off." Heh, that shut them up. Let me tell you how safe this alarm system makes me feel, and the friendly service people that watch out for me. And I thought I had a headache -before.-

So finally, after a billion transfers, one of the friendly people tell us that the battery that goes to our -electric- alarm system is dead, and to unplug it. Okay, a simple enough request. So, we unhook the battery from the alarm system, but guess what..yup, it's still going. So then we are told just to unplug the electic area. After trying to pull the plug out, and wondering why it is stuck in there so well, we notice a tiny screw, and hardly any screw driver will fit. Yeah, the plug is screwed in, and you should feel bad for any lonesome soul who would actually want to unscrew it. So, it's just my mom and me in the house, meaning no manly men who have an over abundance of tools, meaning where are we supposed to find a tiny tiny little screw driver? So, my mother and I look all around the house, the stupid alarm blaring in our ears, until we finally find a sacred screw driver and unplug that darned thing. Ahh, silence. So, we begin to walk up stairs when we hear a really really weird ticking. It's either a really wacked clock, or a bomb, but either way, my mom and I looked at each other and decided that we really didn't care at this point. We have also decided that we just aren't alarm people, and we'll just take out chanced with the burgaler next time.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist