November 03, 2004
10:30 p.m.

I was browsing through random members on Diaryland today, and about eighty percent of the diaries I clicked on were upset with Bush as victor. I know politics is one of those subjects you stay away from, but my diary, whatever. I personally didn't like any of the candidates running. It became a 'pick the lesser of the evils' for me, and half the people I talked to felt the same way. I live in Georgia, so I was surrounded by pro Bush people. It was always assumed that that was who I would vote for. My E-mail box was bombarded with 'funny' e-mails showing Bush's 'amazingness' and I never really bothered to correct anyone. I wasn't really all that impressed with Kerry either, but on issues that are important to me, he was slightly better. Bush's gay marriage ban really upsets me. I think two debates are getting merged into one, and it's making everything worse. What most gay and lesbian people are after is the right to have their partner on their insurance, to be able to have visitation the hospital, just the basic things that spouses have. What the debate is turning to is the word and concept of marriage in a church. Acceptance by churches would be wonderful, but mainly it's about the rights that are extended to every other married couple in the US. People are voting from a religious standpoint, and on their own 'ick fator' involving gay relations and not on the idea of simple human rights. What about mixed race couples, years ago that was unheard of, and wouldn't be allowed, and don't we feel stupid now. This is the same principle. It may not be your choice, but why deny it to someone else? If it makes people feel better, don't call it marriage, call it a civil union or whatever, but get off your high horse. Okay, rant done..don't even get me started on the war or the environment. I'll have to write about my normal stuff later, I am ready for bed. All that ranting took a lot of energy.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist