2001-06-07
12:07 a.m.

Today has just been one of those days. This morning, I got up bright and early, after only about four hours of sleep, and decided to finally get my learner's license to get my dad off my back. He just can't stand the fact that his alomst seventeen year old daughter actually has no interesting in driving. I decided I would surprise him, however, and get the lisence before we go to Florida. Well, my plans just never go that simply.

My mom and I get to the license place, and walk around in a confused state, considering there aren't any signs anywhere that disclose where you should go. We finally find a really long line, and assume that it must be the line, we ask to make sure. Yup, it's the line. So, as my mom and I make our way back to the very back of the line, way off in the distance, I hear a voice 'Is that Heather?' I cringed and slowly turned around. There, in all his glory, stands my step-brother, puffing away on a ciggerette, trying to look cool. 'Allen, how are you doing, haven't seen you in a while' Of course, that had nothing to do with the fact that I have been avoiding him since Christmas. He continued to tell me about how he was getting his license back because he had finally paid the court costs. Gee, they only had a warrent out for his arrest.. In having his license for three months, he managed to get into three accidents, running into the same ditch twice. We won't even talk about his stupidity. I finally manage to get away from him, and take my place in the back of the very slow moving line. Two hours, and a very hot sun later, we make inside the building, in which the ever friendly staff gave us a number. That's right, we waiting two hours in line to get a stupid number.

With an exasperated sigh, my mom and I sit down. We're number 78, and they are on fifty, that shouldn't take too long right? Wrong, never underestimate the slowness of any DMV type service. Luckily I had brought my book, so I was content to read, and read, and read.. Finally, the reading became too much, as the eighty degree weather was begining to show, even in the air conditioned building. I borrow two dollars from my mom, and go to get a coke. The first coke machine I go to decides that dollars just aren't good enough for it, and won't take them. Fine I just decided that I would go to the other coke machines. Well, the pepsi machine was broken, and someone was working on the other coke machine. I kind of gave a really loud sigh, and the guy turned away from his work. I asked if I could just pay him, and get a coke out of the machine. He says that is fine, so I get a Diet Coke for my mom, and I ask for a Mr. Pibb for me. Nope, all out. Yet another sigh escapes my lips, okaaay, how about a coke. 'I just put them in, so they are all hot.' Buy now, I'm hot, I'm tired, I'm cranky, and I just want to go back into the air conditioned buildin. So, I take the hot coke, which is not good to drink when you are nervous, and on the verge of a panic attack with no Xanax in site. Just thought everyone should take note of that.

Well, the waiting continues as we make friends. I even traded numbers with one of the girls I met. Finally, five hours after reaching the dreaded place, my number was called. My mom and I had made so many friends in the waiting area that they actually started clapping. It was quite funny. So, I go back, have my vision tested, if you could call it a test. They made me read one line of numbers, and I could read the numbers even without my glasses, so it wasn't really too hard. Then, I am sent back to a computer to take the test. There is no one watching, so I could have easily cheated, which the people next to me were doing. I didn't need to cheat, however, considering the questions were basically common sense. My favorite question was one that had a picture of a stop sign, and then the question:
What does this sign mean?
A. Come to a complete stop
B. Continue on
C. Look both ways
I am not even joking. So, I passed the test quite easily, and I fill out all of my information. I then go and wait in another line, and finally get up to the counter. They guy fills in all my information, and then gets a funny look on his face.
Guy: Your license has been suspended
Me:What!?!
Guy:It says here that you had excessive absences at school, so they have suspended your license
Me: I have a doctors excuse for those days. I was out for a medical reason. When I legally withdrew from that school, they said it was taken care of.
Guy:Well, it says it's suspended
Me: (I hold up a form that my mom signed saying she knew that I was not enrolled in school)My mom signed this, isn't that good enough?
Guy:Nope, you license has been suspended
Me: (I'm wondering why this guy feels the need to repeat himself, I'm angry, not stupid) But I don't have a license to suspend.
Guy: Well, any privillages are suspended as well, so we can't get you one until you are reinstated.
Me: And where do I do that?
Guy: Gainsville (Which is a place about an hour away from where I live.)
Me: (Now, I never stand up to athourity, I'm always quiet and distant..heh, not today)Oh, this is a load of crap! This is the school's mistake, not mine.
I then turn and frustratedly walk to my mom, telling her what he said. Well, that pisses my mom off, she goes up there, yells at him, gets the same information while getting nowhere at the same time. Then, we find out the wonderful topper to it all, for a mistake my ::insert lots of foul words:: school's error, we have to pay fifty dollars to get my non existant license reinstated. So, I waited all freaking day, missed my babysitting job, and caused my mom to miss a friend's viewing, I got nothing accomplished. Frustrated doesn't even begin to describe me.

There, now that I have finished venting, I shall move on to different subjects. The girl I babysit has gotten a diary here, and asked me to link to her. She feels special because she actually knows hardrain. I feel like a celebrity, hehe. Oh, and speaking of diaries, Jake actually updated. I know, it's been almost fifty days since his last update, but I finally nagged him into updating again. Go read his entry, and give him lots of lovings, cause he needs them.

I think that's all for tonight, I'm going to go and make a picture of the DMV and make it into a dart board. Mwahahaha



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist