2001-12-14
10:54 p.m.

A long entry...

I went to the car on Tuesday night, to go to my babysitting job. When I turned the key in the ignition, I was met with nothing. When I say nothing, I mean no noise at all. I might as well have been turning the key in thin air. Needless to say, car not starting up is a bad thing.

My mom and I figured the battery was dead, and considering it was dark, we decided to try and jump it in the morning. I caught a ride to my babysitting job, and didn't worry about it. The next morning, we called my next door neighbor, and she came to try and jump the battery. Well, our battery was beyond the point of no return. Well, Heather had to go to work, so dead cars are even worse at this point. My next door neighbor is really sweet, so she took me to work. I owe her big time for that.

I got to work, and found everyone in a very dark mood, which is really odd for our little office. I can't really name one time I've gone in there, when someone hasn't been laughing, or smiling at least. I went to assist in a horse surgery we were having, and noticed Dr. C was especially grumpy. After cleaning up after the horse surgery, I finally got the story out of Kathy.

About three months ago, a skinny, neglected, black and tan border collie had stumbled into the clinic parking lot. We took her in, and nursed her back to health, calling her Sidewinder, because of the way she walked when she first got there. She was so afraid of people, that she had to keep her eye on us, so she always walked sideways. As she became more comfortable with us all, she completely lost all of her fear, and earned her new nickname..Spaz. As soon as she saw a person come back in the clinic, she began jumping up and down in her crate as if her feet were made of springs. Even through her over-enthusiasm, we all had a soft spot for the dog.

Dr. Myers, the clinic's owner, however, didn't quite connect with her, as every one else had. He is our large animal doctor, hardly ever being at the clinic, or messing around with small animals. All he saw was a dog eating food, and taking up a crate for free. He left us all a list of the animals that were in the clinic for no reason. I admit, this list is a bit big, but, each one had a special case. The list was:
Sidewinder
PJ (Which we managed to convince him to keep as a blood donor dog, since he has donated twice already)
Sparky (Which is a kitten with a hole in her pallet, which goes all they way to her nasal cavity, that was saved from being put down by Dr. C who hopes to fix her)
Bear, BJ, and Blue (Which were two German Shepheards, and a Rottweiler, that came in to board, and the owner never came back.)
Ozone (Another animal that Dr. C has taken on. He's a horse with lung absesses that need surgery.)
Gunshot (A dog that had twelve buckshot holes in him. A shattered foot, a broken pelvis, and heartworms. Leslie has since taken him)

So, with that list, I can see why Dr. Myers was upset with the money going out, but not comming back. I feel, however, that we owe it to the animals. I mean, we are in a position to help them, why not give them a shot? So, anyway, we ended up doubling our efforts to get rid of as many as we could, or Dr. Myers said they would be put down. We reluctantly gave Sidewinder to a client of ours. None of us really liked her, but we figured Sidewinder had a better chance with her, than to be put down at the clinic.

So, back to the other day. Apparently, this lady's other dog, a rotty mix, and Sidewinder, had attacked her little terrier, killing it. The rotty mix, Sable, I had known to be aggressive, but Sidewinder, who I had seen with other dogs on many occasions, had never even raised her lip in a growl. This woman, decided to put Sidewinder, and Sable down. The entire clinic was in an outrage. Dr. C, the always calm surgen, was throwing instruments around in surgery like crazy. I had never seen her so angry. She calmed herself down before beginging the surgery, but you could still see the anger in her eyes.

The woman came into the clinic, and I saw Sidewinder out in her car, wagging her stub of a tail, looking so happy. I went to Dr. Fuller, and begged him to try and convince her to release Sidewinder back to us. I said I would pay for her boarding if Dr. Myers said anything. A few minutes later, I see Dr. Fuller leading Sidewinder back into the kennels, and placing her in a cage. I felt the whole clinic breath a sigh of relief. After the surgery, I watched through the glass as Dr. C went into the kennel, and gave Sidewinder a big hug. I wonder if this dog knows how lucky she really is.

So, after that hectic day, I call my mom to see if the car is fixed..no such luck. I ask Leslie if she would mind taking me home. She asks if I would like to spend the night at her house, since her husband was out of town, and she wanted to company. It sounded good to me. Well, since I was going over, we decided to invite Ellyn to come for dinner, and make a little girl's night out of it. We ended up sipping wine coolers, and telling funny stories, until Ellyn finally had to go home. Leslie and I stayed up and talked a little longer, until both us were half asleep. The next morning, she and I cooked breakfast, and got ready for work, when Leslie gets an evil glint in her eyes. She runs to her room, and gets her bright, colorful scrub top, with pink frogs on it. ::Shudders:: She wanted me to wear it to work. After me putting up a stink, I finally agreed, when I notice the evil look in her eyes return. She then asked if she could do my hair and make-up for the day.

Heather doesn't wear make-up. The closest to doing her hair Heather gets is putting it up in a pony tail. After practically chasing me around the house with lipstick, I finally agreed, so we wouldn't be late to work. She put my hair in a french braid, and put make-up on. Everyone at work was asking her how she did it. They all know what a tomboy I am. I'll get Leslie back..mwahaha.

Leslie also told me that Brooks might be willing to let me work off Curly, and buy him. Or, possibly even give him to me. She can't ride him, and with his stunted growth, and other such stuff, he isn't worth much money. I am not going to get my hopes up, because I don't know if I would be able to afford him anyway, but, it's still nice to think about.

Oh, and I forgot to mention my dogs latest adventures. They brought me a dear leg. It was still jointed, still had hair, and a hoof on it. I threw it away. The next day, they came home with ANOTHER dear leg. I threw it away, and was sure I had fixed the hole in the fence. They got out again, and gave up with the dear legs, this time, bringing me the head of a huge six point buck. Remind me how much I love my dogs. I don't like finding dear heads on my front porch, it's just not a normal thing. I ended up giving the head to my neighbor, who wanted the antlers, let him deal with the smell. I really do love my dogs. Honest.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist