May 30, 2003
10:10 a.m.

The last few days have been..well, I'm not sure exactly how to explain them.

Tuesday, Kathy asked me to work for her, because, she told me secretly, she had a job interview. When you work at Countryside, you don't make money, you have to work there because you love the work. Kathy has been about two hundred dollars short every month, so, she was getting to the point where she might lose her farm. So, I went in on Tuesday, and found out Kathy hasn't told anyone she was taking the day off. This put Dr. C in a bit of a bad mood. Boy is she craky without her morning coffee. By the time we went out on our morning call, she was feeling much better. The call was supposed to be simple, just vaccines and coggins on seven horses. The first two went without a hitch. The third one, the lady warned us, would kick. Dr. C and didn't think that would be a problem, I mean, vaccines are given in the neck of a horse, so the back feet couldn't possibly reach that far. Silly Heather, what was I thinking. One minute, Dr. C is putting the needle in, the next, she is laying at my feet. It took me a second to figure out what had happened. From my point of view, it looked like the horse had gotten her square in the stomach, so, all I could imagine was all the internal bleeding she could be having. We got her up, and away from the horse. I asked her if I needed to call an ambulance, to which I got a very nasty look. She said she was fine, and just needed a minute to cool off. I asked her where the horse had gotten her, fully planning to call an ambulance if it had indeed gotten her in her midsection. Apparently, it had gotten her arm, as well as her hip. She told me not to call anyone, that she was okay. She then looked up, panic on her face, and all I can think is something is really wrong, but, in true Dr. C fasion, asks, "Are my sun glasses okay!?" ::shakes head:: After retreiving her unscathed sun glasses, we went about the rest of the call. AFter forcing her to take two advil (I couldn't get her to take more to save my life), the rest of the day was uneventful.

Wednesday, I went up to Kathy first thing, and asked how the job interview went. To be honest, there wasn't a possibility in my mind that she would get it. She got it thought. I stood and stared for a minute, and then, realized that that wasn't excatly the best way to react, I then, ran up and gave her a big hug, and told her hiw happy I was. I asked her if she had told anyone yet, she said she wasn't really sure how to tell people, and was afraid of how they would all react. She said she wanted to tell Dr. C first, because they are friends. I told her I would help in any way I could.

We then went to do an ovarectomy (that is probably no where near how it's spelled, but, oh well), which is removing an ovary on horse. Without a special instrument, which we don't have, the surgery is a bit complicated. Dr. C said she would need someone to scrub in eventually. I've never gotten to scrub into a surgery, so I was pretty sure it would be Kim that scrubbed in. I've always wanted to have a chance to scrub into horse surgeries. It's just such a neat thing. I mean, normally, you are shoulder deep in a horses abdomen. Anyway, I helped get the horse under anesthesia, and went into the clinic, just doing busy work. Kathy then called my name, and told me to come out to the surgery room. Dr. C asked me to get a few things, and then, to scrub in. I kind of stared for a minute, and asked if she just wanted me to put gloves on, or to put everything on (mask, cap, gown, gloves). Okay, mask, cap, easy. I went ahead and scrubbed my hands, and then, stared at the gown. I have never put one on while keeping it sterile before. I asked Dr. C exactly how to put it on, and she kind of stared at me. Okay, got the point, just wing it. So, I put it on, managing to keep it mostly sterile. Got my gloves on, and went and stood beside Kim. Kim was working on keeping the intestines out of the way, not an easy feet, and I held the huge ovary up. After about fourty-five minutes, Kim had to leave for school, leaving me as the only one scrubbed in. So, there I am, holding up this huge ovary, and trying, with my little hands, to keep large amounts of intestine out of the way. It was so not happening. Dr. C couldn't see where she was needing to tie off vessels. After struggling for quite a while, we asked Dr. Fuller to scrub in as well. It took him almost thirty minutes to actually get out to horse surgery to scrub. By the time he got his gloves on, Dr. C and I had already managed to remove the ovary. We closed the horse up, and got her off the table. Kathy and I started cleaning, as it was well after five thirty. Dr. C then told us that she she wanted to take a dog with a bowel obstruction to surgery. So, off to surgery we went. I kept leaving the surgery room, hoping to give Kathy some time to talk to Dr. C. Dr. Fuller then walked in the door, and, for some reason, Kathy decided that was the time to tell everyone. I looked at Dr. C when Kathy said the news, and I saw her face fall. Kathy walked out of the room to talk to Dr. Fuller for a few minutes, and Dr. C looked at me, and said, "I suppose that's where she went yesterday." I nodded. "Did you know?" I nodded again. "I wish she had told me earlier, I mean, as a friend. Instead, she tells me in front of Fuller." She looked so hurt. I told her that Kathy had been worried about it all day, and had wanted to tell her alone, etc. Dr. C said she was happy for her, but just hurt that Kathy felt she couldn't tell her. I think Dr. C will get over it, it will just take a little time.

So, yesterday, Dr. Fuller calls me at seven thirty in the morning. Needless to say, my Mom wasn't happy. She told him I would call back later. I ran around all day, and didn't have a chance to talk to him. Finally, around seven, he walked up to me and asked if I could talk. We went into the office, and he told me that if I wanted Kathy's job, it was mine. That I had first dibs on it. I thought about it, and told him that I was nervous that I couldn't do all that she does. I mean, I don't have as much equine experience as she has. Dr. Fuller shook his head, and told me he had seen me around the horses on calls, and I did fine. As for thing I still didn't know, anyone he hired would have to learn, so it might as well be me. So, I have been promoted. I get another pay raise, and, Sunday's off. I got to thinking about it last night, I have been at the clinic for just under two years, and, already, I have been promoted into the highest position I can hold. I think that's pretty cool. We'll have to see how it goes, because, well, I am not a morning person, and this requires me to be at work at seven thirty every day. The clinic isn't going to be the same without Kathy. I mean, she got on everyone's nerves, over explaining things, but she was a darn hard worker.

So, yeah, that's my week in review. Crazy huh?



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist