2002-03-28
6:06 p.m.

One year ago, I loaded two of my dogs in the car, taking them to be spayed/neutered. I walked into a small country veterinary office, handing the leashes over to a lady, while asking if I could see where they would be staying. Before I knew what I was doing, I was asking the doctor if I could stay and watch the surgery. It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life.

Now, exactly a year later, I look back, amazed at all I have experienced, all I have learned. I have learned, not only about my future career choice, but, me, as a person. On the worst day of my life, I can walk into that small, humble clinic, and I am ok. The world isn't chasing me, the monsters are safely back in their closets. When I feared that the darkness of depression would consume me, I was brought back to life by the country clinic, lacking in a lot of the modern day medical appliences, but, making up for it in the compassion of the people there.

I feel as if that clinic has helped to make me a real person. I have made ever lasting friends there, not only in the staff, but in the clients, and in the animals. In the place of the girl who first walked in the door of that place, the girl who was shy, quiet, and frightened, comes this new me. The one who has really grown up, who smiles more, or isn't afraid of what tomorrow brings. In the place of that former shell is me.

As I watched Animal Planet's "Emergency Vets," I was amazed to realize, that, at one time, I watched, and said to myself 'Wow, it would be so amazing to get to do that,' while, now, I watch, and go 'Wow, I've done that.' I found a place that makes me feel like I am the kind of the world. What if I had not gone to the clinic that day..where would I be? I think that the fates were watching out for me.

So, thank you Countryside, for helping to shape me into the person I have become, I owe so much to you.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist