August 08, 2004
9:17 a.m.

It�s been a busy week, or, more accurately, I could say it was a busy weekend, followed by a week of a very tired Heather. It was worth it though.

Went to see Evanescence with Kelly and Dr. C last Friday, and they were amazing, just as they were last year. When Amy Lee sings, she drowns out the music, and at a rock concert, that�s saying a lot. I was a little bit disappointed in Seether, however, it just seemed like he really wasn�t into it. Amy Lee looks like she�s still having fun on stage, which makes it so much more fun for the audience, while Seether was just there, no energy. Amy Lee�s voice is just amazing. I don�t think I will ever get tired of going to their concerts. At least this year, we didn�t have any girls who insisted on flinging every body part they had. We only had to deal with super chatty guy, who had to go and get another beer every ten minutes, meaning he had to walk in front of us. Oh well, at least we had pretty good seats and could see everything.

Sunday, I went white water rafting with Dr. C, Ellyn, Dianna, and a friend of Dianna�s named Michelle on the Chattooga. I�m going to wait to write my white water rafting adventure until I get the pictures. The story is just so much more dramatic when you see the pictures.

Monday, I was so sore from rafting, and a little bit tired too. When I get tired, I get slap happy and kind of stupid. Poor Dr. C was really beginning to question her choice in assistants. What can I say, I keep the work day really interesting.

Wednesday, we had a horse surgery, which is enough to make me nervous on its own grounds, but this horse belonged to Kathy that used to work with Dr. C. Then, to make matters even worse, Kathy was going to stay and watch the surgery. She went down pretty good, aside from falling into the corner, instead of away from it. We had to drag her out, which I felt the next day. It�s hard for three people under a hundred and fifteen pounds to pull a fifteen hundred pound horse. So we get her on the table, and I have to really work to convince her that she wants to go to sleep. I ended up having to bump her with drugs again to get her under. No big deal. Then Kathy starts telling Dr. C about how she wasn�t worried about the surgery itself, but on how much could go wrong under anesthesia. She didn�t mean it directed at me, but it still made me ten times more nervous. I�m sure my face was as pale as a ghost. As Dr. C was closing the incision site, and told me to go ahead and lighten the horse, so, I turned her down a half a notch. Well, about five minutes later she started to blink, which is a sign they are waking up. Dr. C had me give Ketamine, but I was shaking so bad I could barely get the needle into the catheter. The whole time I can feel Kathy staring at me. Everything went fine though, the horse got up in recovery perfect, a star patient. I now remember why I didn�t like working with Kathy though. I love her outside of work, but she is such a pain to work with. I have been Dr. C�s assistant for over a year now, and Kathy still felt the need to ask me if I would be okay holding the horse for just one second. Oh well, at least that surgery is over and done.

If there is a label on a medication that says don�t use it on cats, it�s probably there for a reason. Common sense, but some of the clients we deal with are severely lacking in that department. Friday, a lady put a sixty pound dose of dog only flea medication on her nine pound cat, and then went to work, leaving the cat about eight hours to absorb the medication. When she got home the cat was twitching and going into seizures. We bathed the cat as soon as she got to the clinic, but with most of the medication already absorbed, I don�t think it did any good. The cat was twitching so bad, it was pretty hard to get a catheter in. Valium is ineffective with this type of drug, so we were having to use simple muscle relaxers, which actually did a pretty good job. The kitty looked much better Saturday morning.

My dad called me a work Saturday to tell me that Randy, his shelti, was throwing up. We were fully booked on Saturday, but we had him go ahead and bring Randy in. Turns out Randy was having a flare up of pancreatitis, because my dad and step-mom insist on giving him table scraps, even though they know he is prone to pancreatitis. We had to put him on IV fluids and IV antibiotics, but it looks like we caught him early and he should be fine. I�ve told my dad to quit feeding them table scraps, but they don�t listen to me. There are certain things that are okay in small quantities, but the stuff they feed him. ::Shakes head::

Anyway, I have to go and trim crazy lady�s cat nail today. She is as sweet as she can be, and she loves her cats, but she can drive you crazy. She pays me good though, so I can�t complain.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist