August 03, 2005
12:16 p.m.

Well, my time at the clinic is officially over..well, sort of. I am still working some weekends and Fridays, but I am no longer there full time. It's time that I get serious about school, and I've known that this was the deadline I made for myself. It was a really sad day for me because I do love my job. I have seen and done such amazing things. Two weeks ago we removed an 18 pound tumor from a mare's abdomen. I got to scrub in instead of doing anesthesia (yay!) and it was just the most amazing thing. I'll spare details for the squeemish, but let me say intestines are amazingly sneaky things. No matter how much you push them out of the way, they just snake their way right back into your field, and there is nothing like being shoulder deep in a mare's abdomen. Okay, now that you have lost your lunch, I will move on to other things. :)

I think my replacement will do well, she seems capable of handling Dr. C's temper tantrums. She doesn't really know much, but she is a quick learner and willing to get in and work.

My goodbye card was incredibly sweet and it made me realize something. Almost everyone had put something along the lines of 'thanks for teaching me.' I realized that I have trained every vet assistant and kennel assistant there. It was a big whoa moment. When did I got from the shy little girl cowering in the corner of the surgery room to a leader? I have learned so much from that place. I have grown up there. I'm a little lost, to be honest, without it. I do have to admit, however, that being able to wake up while it's actually light outside has been an improvement. I do not miss the early mornings.

Life is always changing, always moving on, and this is just the next step in the journey. So, little clinic, I will miss you.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist