2001-04-23
10:20 p.m.

I was actually going to go to bed early tonight, because I have to get up early tomorrow to babysit my toddler cousins, but just as I was ready to visit the land of slumber, I found a movie on tv. The name didn't strike me, and I was sure that if I watched it, I would be put to sleep, which was what I wanted. It was called "But I'm a Cheerleader." No offense to those that are cheerleaders, but the ones I have come in contact with often annoy me. I guess I'm just not a team spirit person. ( I still love ya Kayty)I checked the info in the movie "A cheerleaders parents send her to a camp in the desert because they think she is a lesbian." Okay, so now this has my interest, and I'm getting prepared for a movie making fun of lesbians. I was wrong. After ten minutes of watching, I called my mom in, and told her to go and watch it. I was transfixed.

I'm having to stop myself from writing a complete transcript of the movie. The girl, Megan, is sent to this camp where your "sickness of homosexuality is cured." The movie did a good way of showing how rediculous it is to try and change who you are. The movie did it in a humorous, exaggerated way, but it got the point across. It's not bad to be who you are, who you are made to be. It was also a love story, about falling in love, and taking chances for the one you love. Megan's parents tell her that if she chooses to be a homosexual, then she isn't allowed to come back home, and they don't want any contact with her. With overwehlming courage, Megan decides to be who she is inside, and of course, love wins out :)

During the whole movie, I couldn't help but think of Jenn and I. Yeah, I'll be honest, it doesn't take much to make me think of Jenn..but..yeah :) Both of our parents are trying to change us, "cure" us. This movie was showing that there is no cure, and it's cruel, and stupid to try and find one. I want everyone, whether you are gay or straight, or bi to rent this movie. If you rent it..I'll give you an E-kiss and hug. Oh, and if any one actually does rent it, mail me and tell me what you thought.

Okay, now I really have to go to bed, because I am never going to get up in the morning. I just had to say that was the best movie I have seen in a long time.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist