2001-12-06
10:28 p.m.

I hate being sick. Which, I know, almost everyone in the world does..but I just felt like complaining.

Tuesday, I ended up canceling babysitting because I was feeling like crap. Despite that, I went into work early on Wednesday, because we were having two horse surgeries. I love horse surgery, so the fact that I was half dead didn't stop me from going in. You guys should be proud though, because I did clock in when I got there, a whole five hours before I was supposed to. I felt okay, and was doing fine until about four, where I got hot, and flushy. Well, I helped to get the last horse up on the table, and prepped, before I went inside to do my clean up. I got the kennel done, letting all the dogs out and feeding them, and I mopped most of the clinic. I then got really dizzy, and had to go sit down. That is certainly not me, since I hardly ever sit down at work, especially not on a busy day. After about ten minutes of sitting with my head between my legs, I got up and clocked out. I then went and told Ellyn that I was feeling really bad, and I that I just couldn't do anymore. I called my mom to come and get me, and went out into large animal surgery to sit on the concrete floor.

The surgery was completed, and people started noticing I was sick, so I then got the barrage of "Are you okay" questions. I brushed everyone away, I never really like to make a big deal out of it. I then watched as Leslie had to clean up surgery alone, and I felt bad, because it's a big job. I am two seconds away from throwing up the entire contents of my stomach, with a really high fever, and I am worried about putting horse testicles in a bag to save them..I am a strange child. I started to get up to help, but Dr. C threatened my life, and she is far too good with a scalpel for me to challenge her. So, to sufice me, Leslie gave me the dustpan, and told me to hold it still. I was satisfied.

Now, on nights where I am no where near ready to go, my mom always shows up at the clinic. On the night where I can't wait to get home..no mom to be found. Ahh, until I get my license. By the time she got there, everyone but Dr. C had left, and I was starting to feel slightly better. I swear, even when I try to leave that place early, I just can't do it. I had brought Phoenix in to be looked at, because of the strange fungus on his face, neck, and belly, as well as his perpetual bloated, constapated state. After Dr. C gives him a quick look, and I am seconds from leaving, she asks me to help her X-ray a dog. ::Shakes head:: One day, I will leave before anyone else, and I will get out of there on time. ::watches as bolt of lightning strikes beside her:: OKay, so that will never happen.

The dog's toes were all broken, one of them was sticking out of the skin. A lovely way to end my day. And, if me being half dead wasn't enough, I go home and look at an itchy spot that I had been noticing where my neck meets my collar bone, and find that one of the lovely, darling animals that the clinic has given me ringworm. ::cries:: It might have even been my dog Piper, because I notices she has a bit on her foot. I guess I am surprised I have gone this long wihtout getting it, because in the last three months, I have seen ten cases of ringworm that I have worked on. I guess my luck ran out.

I got my paycheck on Monday, and laughed at it's patheticness. I mean, I worked Thanksgiving, shouldn't I get holiday pay. Grr. Oh well, I did get out of working Christmas. Leslie, who I will always adore, told me to take a break, and she'd do it. That's a relief, because I was ready to kill Jody.

Then, an unbelievable thing happened today..I called in sick to work. ::collective gasps go around the room:: I have never, even in the time I was volunteering, called in sick. I even debated about it for an hour today, until my mom threatened to call in for me. I swear, the animal hospital is like an addiction, I have to get my fix. I don't really know what it is about that place that draws me back day after day. I hate cleaning, I mean, this isn't a mild hate, I despise it. At the clinic though, if a single needle cap is out of place, I go crazy. I get down on my knees to scrub stuff off the floor. It doesn't bother me. I guess it's because I am around animals, around vets, being near what I want to do with my life.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist