July 06, 2003
11:54 a.m.

My birthday went pretty well, considering I spent the whole day at work, and went straight from there to school. What can I say, I am a real party animal :)

Dr. C came in, and thrust a birthday card in my hand, and disappeared before I could even say thank you. I shook my head at her, and proceded to open the card. I was reading the card, and kind of put the check that was in it to the side. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw a three on it, so, I figured she'd given me thirty dollars. As I went to put the check back in the card, I looked at it a little closer. It wasn't thirty dollars, but, three hundred dollars. I stood there, in the middle of the break room, staring at this check. I finally went and found Dr. C, thrusting the check back at her. I told her I couldn't take it, because it was way too much. She simply crossed her arms, and ignored the check I was trying to give back to her. She reminded me that she had promised to help out with my school, and that I should take that money and use it to pay for my next class. I kind of opened and closed my mouth like a fish, trying to think of something to say, when she said she was going to give me that money whether I liked it or not, so I might as well shut up and get back to work. I told her that if she was going to give me the money, that she had to have a hug..I think she considered taking the money back, because she hates hugs more than any person I know, except maybe Kelly. She finally reluctantly gave me a hug, and we went on about the day.

We had two horse surgeries to do, and I was once again a nervous reck about anesthesia. When it came time to lay the first horse down, Dr. C and I realized we were there alone, with no one to help us. Now, I weigh 105 pounds, and Dr. C is about 117, and here we are, trying to lay an 800 pound horse down. It was..well..interesting, but it went pretty smoothly. Pushing our old, extremely heavy surery table proved to be much harder than actually laying the horse down. Anesthesia went quite well, I was pleased.

Then, my Mom showed up around twelve with some pizzas and a cake, and we all took a lunch break to shove our faces.

After that, it was back to work on the second horse. Everything went well there as well. Then, I was off to school. I so did not want to be there, I just wasn't in the mood, so, I ended up leaving about a half hour early. I wasn't paying attention, so there was no use sitting in class.

Thursday, I got some more presents. I love how birthdays can kind of go on for a week or so. :) Kelly got me a 'Hairy Trotter' t-shirt. It's modeled after Harry Potter, and it has a horse with glasses flying on a pitch fork..hehe. It's really cute. And Stella got me a horse ring, which is really nice. My Dad is going to repaint the hood of my truck, where I have had some paint chips missing since I bought it. So, I must say, it was a pretty good birthday.

Thursday, while I was on my way to see my horse, I happened to see this big tent on the side of the road, with lots of people in it. I decided to slow down a bit, and see what was going on. It was a tent revival..you know, those things were a guy with extremely oily hair, and way too much make up, preaches, and claims to have amazing healing powers. I slowed down just in time to see the over used 'person getting up out of the wheele chair' routine. It was facinating.

I went to a barbecue on Friday, and participated in a watermellon seed spitting contest. Yep, I am real southern girl. Hehe. I sucked at it, but it was still fun. Then, I completely humiliated myself in a relay race which consisted of putting a frog float around your waiste, and running to the other end of the field with a beach ball between your legs. Only me.

We've been slowly cleaning out my grandparents house, which has been really depressing. I have been thinking about him a lot more lately, and it just seems so weird that he's gone. I don't know, he was just one of those people that you didn't think would ever die. We did get an E-mail from the EMS worker, and he said that they had gotten over fourteen hundred dollars in donations. He also said that this was the first time anyone had even sent donations to them, and they were very honored. They bought some new drug boxes with the money. It's good that my grandfather's death at least brought that to them. It brought out the good in people, and I think that's a very fitting tribute to his life.

Anyway, I have got tons of homework to do, so I am going to get working on that. Thanks to everyone who signed my guestbook to wish me a happy birthday!



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist