2001-07-21
10:04 a.m.

Yesterday Marcella, my mom, and I went into downtown Vancouver. Originally, we were going to go to the aquarium, and then hop on a bus to a little place to do some shopping. Well, what have we all learned about what happens when you have things planned..

Marcella lives on an island, so we have to catch a ferry to get to the mainland. Well, we got there late, so we had to run onto the plank as they were raising it, screaming for them to stop. We felt sort of like idiots..but that's okay. So, we were all happy that we made that. When we reached the other side, we once again to run to the bus stop to catch the bus. At first we thought we had missed it, but Mars, in her ever optimistic way, was right, and it was just running late. Yay for us.

When we got to the park, we made a mistake, and let Mars tell us the directions. We ended up going in a really big circle, instead of the nice, straight path. Oh well, we made it, and that's all that counted right..? The aquarium was wonderful, of course, and we got to watch a lot of feeding, which was awesome. I wanted to steal an otter, and take it home with me, they were so cute. So, after we got done there, I lead the way, and we actually made it out without going in a big circle. I love ya marsy, hehe :)

We got to the bus stop and were waiting to catch the bus. That's easy right? Wrong! Not when Vancouver is in the middle of a bus strike, and you have very few busses running. So, we sit at the bus stop..and we sit at the bus stop..and then, we got bored, so we sat at the bus stop. Buses kept coming by, with a "Sorry full" sign on, and we kept waiting. Finally, after about an hour and a half of this, we gave up and decided to get something to eat. So, we ate, and Marcella played with fire, which was very very scary. After eating, we went back to the bus stop, and sat some more. After another bus came by with the "Sorry full" sign on, we decided to try and walk to an earlier stop, and see if we could sneak on. Well, we walked up quite a few stops, and began to get desperate. So, we found a piece of cardboard under the bench, and were writing on it to try and hitch a ride, when a bus, with three seats left pulled up. I had never been so excited to see a bus in my life.

So, we got on the bus, and it was then too late to go to our other destination, because we didn't want to miss the ferry. So, we got to the bay, and had about a half of an hour to kill. We went shopping in the little shops, and Mars and I bought a little foozball game for about 2 dollars. We had a lot of fun playing with that on the ferry back..we got really violent with it. I think some of the people there thought we had lost our minds..we probably had. Waiting three hours for a bus tends to do that to people. Of course, they had probably already figure out we lost our mind when we walked down the terminal singing "Hakuna Matata" from the lion king. hehe.

When we got home, we were both really tired, so we crashed in record time, after naming our stuffed animals of course. For my birthday, Mars had gotten me a stuffed chinchilla. How many people in the world have a stuffed chinchilla? Not many, so I felt very special. I named the chinchilla Eve. Marcella had bought a stuffed dolphin from the aquarium, and we named him 'Little Phil.' Yeah, we have no life, I know. The chinchilla is so cute though, I just love it.

Oh, and something I forgot to say the other day. When my mom was introducing herself to Mars' father, John, she holds out her hand and goes "Hi, my name is John...no..wait..-I'm- not John, you're John, I'm Debbie." Hehe, can you tell we were really tired when we got here? It's been wonderful up here though. I have seen a lot of X-files filming locations, and Mars and I are having a great time. It's so weird to think of meeting someone from the internet. I mean, I have flown across the country to meet her. It's so amazing. Okay, well, I am going to quit hogging her computer, but I just wanted to let everyone know that I am having a really good time.



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist