May 26, 2003
5:54 p.m.

This is a letter the EMT that worked on Pop sent my Aunt. It kind of reminds me of the good in the world. The people that still do really care.

"Hey there,
Glad to hear that a sign is being put up. If any of the neighbors want to say something, tell them to come and see me. I hope the pain is easing day by day and your family is doing well. There is not a day goes by that I havent thought of that day. All the medics at work have heard what happened and been very supportive and understanding. That day when we got to the ER, I stayed up at his head and wouldnt let anyone take over. Even the nurses and Dr. Erwin kept telling me to take a break, but they knew that I wasnt going to leave until we loaded him into the helicopter. I wanted to make sure that everything was done and done right to try and stablize your dad, not saying that it would not have been if I didnt stay, but, the ER depends on medics in serious emergency's because we do it all the time. Mr. "Pop" Ginn really touched my heart and open my eye's that day. I have been doing this for so long that I was getting to the point of being so tired and wore down from seeing all the bad things day in and day out. But, that day, its like an inner strength has come out. It brought that "compassion" back that medics loose after working for so long and almost being at that "burn-out stage". I know how hard it must have been for you to be riding with us, knowning what all was going on, and that bothered me for a while. One minute I am telling Ronald to stop and help me because of him going into arrest, then telling you that he was back and talking to me. I cant imagine how hopeless and empty a person could feel. Thats why I came over and hugged you before you left, I knew how scared you were, I was scared too. But as medics, we cant show it, because if we show it, then the families and patients wont give us that trust we need and confidence in us to be the best we can. In closing, your father and family helped me through some issues that I have been dealing with for a long time. I will always remember that. Take care and keep in touch.
Scott W*****, EMT-P"

Mom and I got into a fight yesterday, it was silly really. I know she is stressed about Pop, but I hate it when she takes that stress out on me. Pretty much everything I did yesterday was wrong. Even her spilling a can of green beans was my fault..I'm not really sure how, but there ya go. I ended up going to the clinic (on my day off) to get away from here. Oh well, thus is life.

I taught Elisa to shake hands..er..hooves yesterday. She is an amazingly fast learner, anything for a treat. What's funny is when she starts to do it before I have asked. When she bows, or shakes before I command, I don't give her a treat. So, she'll go down and bow, and then, look at me from between her hooves, like "don't you see me bowing here you idiot, where's my treat.' She'll then figure out I am not going to give her one, and throw her head up and snort at me. When she sees me looking at her, she'll go down again, and repeat the process. Then, she gets really mad at me, and will turn her butt to me. Now that she knows how to shake too, she'll throw up her hoof, look at me, realize that that isn't going to get her a treat, go down and bow, look at me, snort, hold her hoof up while bowing, glare at me, stand up, shake her head, nudge me with her nose, and turn away. You just can't have a bad day while being around a horse like her.

I have to work a double shift for Kathy tomorrow, so I had better go do some laundry so I will have something to wear. Goody. :)



<-//->

New Older Notes E-mail Rings Host Vote Wishlist